We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Laurel Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laurel Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This B and B is one of the least expensive places to stay in Bowness. I had a single/shared bath for 3 nights in May. The room was small and there was some noise from the street. However, given the price these minor issues were easily worth putting up with. A mix of younger and older people were staying there (many traveling alone). the hotel is right down-town. Thus the location is perfect. Breakfast was traditional English style--so nothing special but filling.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room NOT facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IMDigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    83
    21
    10
    6
See reviews for
42
192
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

we have just returned from a five night stay here. i can honestly say the owner Jason and his staff are the nicest people i have met in a B&B. Jason is a relatively new proprietor in this trade and he will do very well i am convinced. his breakfasts are fantastic. real sausages and thick slices of bacon with black pudding , beans, tomatoes and fried bread. plus of course the cereals and fruit and all the tea and toast you wish to consume.our room was number 5. jason is presently improving the B&B to his own design. new carpets were put down this week and i could sense the enthusiasm in his plans to make his business succesful for his family. the waitresses and waiter were the most polite people i have met in B&Bs.years of eperience between them is invaluble. i would suggest any potential guests should realise this building is 400 years old and to understand and accept any little creaks that come with old buildings. shower was the most powerful and hottest(if you want it to be) i have ever had.a truly good place to stay.

Room Tip: room 5 is a large double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and i stayed at laurel cottage at the beginning of this month for my birthday,we were greeted by the owner Jason who couldnt do enough for us.He advised us where to eat and where to go.In our room was a birthday card from the staff,a lovely touch with some flowers.The room was very clean and comfortable,freshly decorated with new carpets.Breakfast was excellent,cereal,toast and the best cooked breakfast ive ever had.We will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

After a really bad start to our weekend (mainly arriving at another pre booked guest house and leaving instantly after we had seen the room we were expected to stay in for £98 per night!!) we found alternative accommodation last minute at the Lindeth Howe Hotel (beautiful hotel if you like posh and stuffy :-) we only stayed there one night .....We are a young couple who were having a very overdue 2 night break away from our kids (as much as we love them) and what we really wanted was a cosy, friendly, comfortable place to stay with character. This is exactly what Laurel Cottage is. We were just so gutted that we only got to stay there for the one night.....just wished we had booked this lovely little place the first time. However, next time we visit the lakes we will not hesitate to book Laurel Cottage.....:-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstymarkcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here 31st august for two nights in room 8. Room spotless,most comfortable nights sleep we had. Hotel is in center of bowness, ideal for all pubs, restaurants and the lake. Breakfast was superb,but what made our stay extra special was the lovely staff,recomending places to eat etc,could not do enough for you always with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlackpoolTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.7 km away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#39 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.5 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lake View Guest House & Coffee Shop
Lake View Guest House & Coffee S...
#41 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.1 km away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurel Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Property: Laurel Cottage B&B
Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): $138 - $332
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing