We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laurel Cottage B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
191
87
22
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
87
22
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationsteep inclinecar parkfull englishtwo nightsmcdonald hotelweekend breakfriendly ownersbiscuitswarm welcomeboth morningsbars and restaurantsbreakfast was deliciouscouldn't do enoughmy partnerperfect staytwo night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2011

we have just returned from a five night stay here. i can honestly say the owner Jason and his staff are the nicest people i have met in a B&B. Jason is a relatively new proprietor in this trade and he will do very well i am convinced. his breakfasts are fantastic. real sausages and thick slices of bacon with black pudding , beans, tomatoes and fried bread. plus of course the cereals and fruit and all the tea and toast you wish to consume.our room was number 5. jason is presently improving the B&B to his own design. new carpets were put down this week and i could sense the enthusiasm in his plans to make his business succesful for his family. the waitresses and waiter were the most polite people i have met in B&Bs.years of eperience between them is invaluble. i would suggest any potential guests should realise this building is 400 years old and to understand and accept any little creaks that come with old buildings. shower was the most powerful and hottest(if you want it to be) i have ever had.a truly good place to stay.

Room Tip: room 5 is a large double.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tommy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and i stayed at laurel cottage at the beginning of this month for my birthday,we were greeted by the owner Jason who couldnt do enough for us.He advised us where to eat and where to go.In our room was a birthday card from the staff,a lovely touch with some flowers.The room was very clean and comfortable,freshly decorated with new carpets.Breakfast was excellent,cereal,toast and the best cooked breakfast ive ever had.We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

After a really bad start to our weekend (mainly arriving at another pre booked guest house and leaving instantly after we had seen the room we were expected to stay in for £98 per night!!) we found alternative accommodation last minute at the Lindeth Howe Hotel (beautiful hotel if you like posh and stuffy :-) we only stayed there one night .....We are a young couple who were having a very overdue 2 night break away from our kids (as much as we love them) and what we really wanted was a cosy, friendly, comfortable place to stay with character. This is exactly what Laurel Cottage is. We were just so gutted that we only got to stay there for the one night.....just wished we had booked this lovely little place the first time. However, next time we visit the lakes we will not hesitate to book Laurel Cottage.....:-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kirstymarkcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here 31st august for two nights in room 8. Room spotless,most comfortable nights sleep we had. Hotel is in center of bowness, ideal for all pubs, restaurants and the lake. Breakfast was superb,but what made our stay extra special was the lovely staff,recomending places to eat etc,could not do enough for you always with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlackpoolTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Me and my girlfriend booked this B&B after reading great reviews and would like to recommend it to everyone!
The room was brilliant, with a comfortable new bed and lovely soft sheets, we slept like babies!
The showers could do with updating if you are really trying hard to find a flaw but they were clean and we had no problem with hot water or anything.
Breakfast was amazing I tried the cottage grill and had scrambled eggs, the food was excellent and service was spot on. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, they made us feel very welcome.
We will definitely be returning and would like to thank everyone at Laurel Cottage for an amazing stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danny_laura92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews