We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“got us out of a rut”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“got us out of a rut”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

we were staying in a cottage only to find out there had been a mix up of dates. Approaching 11pm I had to wake my 2 yr old daughter & ask my uncle & 77yr old grandmother to get dressed as the owners had found us 2 rooms at the Oakbank. They dropped us off as I had consumed alcohol & refused to drive anywhere. The owners told us the hotel they had found would cost us £40 each which I thought wasn't too bad & didn't expect to be charged for a 2yr old. As it turned out it cost us £200 for the single night for the 4 of us. The rooms were nice enough but not 5 star by any means, the dining room was very nice but the breakfast was a let down. Maybe the disappointment of what happened to us clouded my judgement but for me this hotel just isn't worth the money. The fact there was a dirty coffee cup in the room didn't help either, I don't mean just stained. Obviously the last guest had used one cup & it was still there with an inch of coffee in the bottom.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diggerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Sir,

I am somewhat annoyed by your comments. If I can clarify you turned up at my premises at 11.45 pm fairly well inebriated and were it not for the fact that you had a baby with you I would have declined your request for rooms. Your story was that you had been asked to leave the accommodation you were staying in. Nobody arranged for you to book in with me.
Your party did not wish to share rooms therefore you took three double rooms at a cost of £200. I do not consider this price to be unreasonable for three double rooms.
I am sorry you did not enjoy the breakfast.
I agree with you that your unfortunate experience of the previous night clearly coloured your judgement and senses. Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    73
    42
    16
    9
See reviews for
10
202
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

just come back from an overnight stay at bowness, and stayed in this hotel, i loved it, its charming we recieved a very warm welcome on arrival and stayed in room wich had lovely views over the lake, the room was lovely and very tastefully decorated, the breakfast was amazing and all the staff we're very pleasent, you get use of leisure facilities at a neighbouring hotel, it was lovely and i recomend it, will definetly go back

Room Tip: i think all rooms are nic but ours had a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

we were so glad we chose this hotel. nice room with view of the lake,comfortable bed .tea coffee sweets sherry biscuits nice little extras. good selection for breakfast, close to shops, boats for the lake, buses.we didnt use the car for 3 days. we went to hill top to see beatrix potters house it was lovely. shame about the weather lots of rain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We Stayed at this hotel on the 7th Sept for 2 nights , we were in room 7 , a lovely room with a view of the lake, very impressed with standard of cleanliness and little extras ,such as a small carafe of sherry in your room to warm the cockles after a rainy day , along with the normal tea & coffee.
There was tea & coffee available all day in the lounge which was a nice touch.
The breakfast was superb with a good choice of cooked food .
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting good quality , we would definately stay again .

Pat & Garry Hurcombe Kent

Room Tip: ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurcombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

A nice old house with 12 rooms only. Ask for a room with lakeview. The extra in this hotel is the lounge which is in fact a kind of living room. Having booked a single room (=double room)it was nice to meet my travel companions in thuis lounge or just to read a book or to work on my PC, as there is free wireless internet in every room.
The hotel is not new, it needs some more maintenance in my view but it is sympathetic, well located and the breakfast is very good. We, being Dutch, would like to have some bread and cheese with breakfast...
Danny, the owner is very helpful, he parked our car for us several times on the steep parking place in front of the hotel and gave us ideas what to visit in the area. Coffee and tea are available in each room. In a nearby hotel you may use the indoor swimming pool and sauna and small fitness center.

Room Tip: A room on the ground floor is practical if you cannot climb the steep stairs, no lift available. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 km away
Number 80
Number 80
#27 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Property: Oakbank House
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): $134 - $206
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing