We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
415
166
36
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
166
36
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden chalet rooms chalet style balcony overlooking the main house bay room fresh fruit lake district cumbrian breakfast evening meal few minutes walk excellent hotel room was large wet room venison eggs benedict cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location, lovely staff, excellent breakfast. We got a stand alone room with good space. The hotel is homely and has a really good family feel about it.

It is a 3 minute walk from the center of town with a number of nice restaurants. The own restaurants the hotel also has good options for bfast and dinner.

Staff was very helpful in guiding us on where to go for walks and hikes.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jahanzeb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay we hope you will visit us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a Three night stay at the Burn How hotel.
..A really lovely stay beautiful room and Fantastic meals...A lovely relaxing experience....The evening meals are wonderful and a fantastic menu.... Breakfast is a real set up for the day so much choice....We have stayed here many many times and cannot wait to return..

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BetnRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

We look forward to your return and thank you for taking the time to send us your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb18. Another great stay in one of that garden room with a balcony over looking the garden. Breakfasts are very nice well worth the money. Staff very friendly and close to Bownes's centre bars and restaurants

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of your stay, we hope you will be able to return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

We were really looking forward to this trip. Photos looked lovely and location was perfect. However after arriving it went down hill.

1)The room we were allocated was tired in its look and nothing like the photos advertised. We were told on checking out that it was because it was due to be updated but that didn’t help us. Not a huge deal however as the bathroom had been refurbished
2) We found some hairs in the bath which we mentioned to staff on the first night but said it was fine
3) Once returning to the room we realised the towel radiator when on(not controllable) was EXTREMELY HOT. To the point that you could not help scolding yourself every time you got out of the bath or sitting on the toilet. This is DANGEROUS and again when telling the reception staff they just told us they needed to be replaced. When suggesting a sign at the very least they did not really comprehend this would be important for future guests. It just went over their heads. I find this to be irresponsible.
4) We could not have a shower without the bath filling up within 30 seconds due to a blocked drain. This is a 5 minute job to fix. It didn’t get sorted out until the day we were to leave.
5) We noticed the towels were not changed throughout the week as one of them had lipstick on all week. There was no notice to put them in the bath when we wanted them changed.

This is really poor from a hotel that has such a good rating. The breakfast was excellent, staff friendly but something is broken here. Poor resolution to issues and clearly the cleaning team need a talking to.
At no point did they offer any compensation for all these issues but hey they will still get guests so do they care!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for all your comments which we have taken on board and are looking at

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Luxurious stay amids the lush green land of the Lake District. Warm and helpful staff. Rejuvenating stay close to the Lake cruise and accessible by buses and chain of variety of restaurants.
It's impossible to miss the spectacular view whilst on your drive to this place from London. Tiny townlets with some of the best brewed coffee add to the beauty of the road.
Scumptotous breakfast served is a value for money.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank DPratham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda A, Front Office Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you for your kind words,, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the chefs are glad you enjoyed breakfast thankyou for your comments

We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews