We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,096)
Filter reviews
1,096 results
Traveller rating
709
249
87
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
249
87
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beatrix potter afternoon tea lovely hotel travelzoo deal course dinner country house hotel lake district scones on arrival small pool deluxe room turn down service window seat amuse bouche log fire no lift superb food
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 1,096 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stayed middle of March and managed to get a good deal for 3 nights with evening meal inculded on 2 nights out of 3.
Be aware that your satnav might take you to the old entrance which is blocked as you make your way toward the hotel, look at a map rather than satnav.
On arrival the building is lovely looking with really pretty gardens even in March they looked lovely. We had snow while there and the whole place seemed magical just sat around the fire while snow outside, although it didn't stop the walks.
The lounge area and bar are very modern and quirky and James was always about to help and assist. Prices at the bar we ok for a hotel as some places charge way over the top.
The restaurant for evening meal and breakfast was lovely with everything cooked fresh to exactly how you want it to be, the food really was 1st class.
We did manage to use the charging point but it wasn't easy as they have a skip in front of it but the lead was long enough.
We would love to stay again and if a similar deal was on offer will certainly look at it but we like to try other places.
Would recommend this place to anyone is really nice

Room tip: Go for a superior room, they are lovely and big
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Fraser66,

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with the magical snow fall in March. With the homely atmosphere within the hotel and the cosy fireplaces, it’s easy to relax whilst watching the snow fall!

The Lake District is not very Sat Nav friendly and we do always suggest using road maps and signage to navigate around as some of the lanes are not motorist friendly. We have tried to work alongside the companies so that the route to our hotel is correct, but because we are set on a private drive the Sat Nav doesn’t recognise it.

As a hotel we are always reviewing and renewing our prices to be competitive with the local area, but we also try and source local produce and support the farming community within the area. The kitchen and food & beverage team but their heart and soul into their food, presentation and work so I will most definitely pass your comments onto the Food & Beverage manager.

We always have special offers out throughout the year, so keep an eye on our website and also sign up to our newsletter so receive them straight away.

We do hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The sat nav sent us the wrong way and we got lost trying to find the hotel. A local put us on the correct road.
The hotel is stunning - inside and out. We loved it and will be back! Our room was overlooking the garden and was very comfortable. A good selection of drinks and toiletries was provided plus bathrobes, wi fi, room service, iron, shoe cleaning service and so on...The public rooms are beautifully decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly, always on hand if needed. Breakfast was delicious and there was an extensive choice. It is a short walk downhill to bowness from here so is in a good position. We were here over Easter weekend and Easter eggs were left on the breakfast tables and around the public areas which was a nice touch. We didn't dine other than breakfast so couldn't comment on other food available.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank louisem248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear louise m,

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe.

With being set on a private drive, some Sat Nav’s do send you a different route to try and avoid the private drive. Although luckily for us the locals are friendly and do not mind redirecting our guests to the correct route.

We work hard to provide the best toiletries, drinks and amenities within your room so that you can enjoy your room with complete bliss.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our Easter surprise within the ground floor. As a hotel we do like to celebrate the different holidays but in a subtle way so not to offend anyone.

The hotel and its grounds are set slightly above Bowness-On-Windermere and the Lake so we are perfect for getting away from the hustle and bustle of town life but close enough to walk into town for an ice cream!

We hope to welcome you back to Lindeth Howe again soon.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We spent a night a Lindeth Howe on Good Friday. From the start we had a really lovely stay. A member of staff opened the front door to us with a welcome. We were shown to our room and we overlooked the garden. The room itself was immaculate and the bathroom squeaky clean. We couldn’t have asked for more.

Staff were beyond courteous. When leaving for the evening a member of staff was speaking with another customer and she was perfect in her customer service. The ladies in reception were so professional yet friendly.

Breakfast was superbly cooked, staff attentive and the food so tasty.

If you want a slick modern hotel this isn’t for you. It’s warm and homely and the references to Beatrix Potter are tasteful. I loved the lounge carpet. All the characters on a cream background. All kept in theme. It’s a sheer delight. After a very cold day all the heating was on, some hotels are stingy and it’s cold but not here. Lindeth Howe is cosy and welcoming to come back to.

If we’re back in the area, we will definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gredwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear gredwood2,
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe. I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you found all the team members to be polite, professional yet friendly and accommodating.

Our housekeeping team take great pride in their work and the newly refurbished bedrooms, so I will pass your comments onto the Head Housekeeper.

Our management team worked closely with a team of local interior designers to keep the history of Beatrix Potter within the hotel but with tasteful modern twists. We are all so proud of the renovation and the new look of the hotel.

We all work closely as a family here at Lindeth Howe and like to give a home from home atmosphere, with warm cosy fires in the public areas and warm cosy bedrooms.

We do hope that when you are next in the area, you come and stay with us again.

Thanks again for your amazing review.

Kind regards,
Samantha Short
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I stayed at this lovely country house years ago but its photo has still remained on my profile background and reminds me of the peaceful summer holiday. It is located in a quiet and forestry area, which also has a footpath to its own garden and further to a lake, so that you can have a walk or jog any time you want. The room was clean and as cozy as your dreamt bedroom. The staff knew my favourite pillows after the first night and arranged the bed to my own liking while I was having dinner downstairs. It was so impressive. I can say that I was well-fed during the 3-day stay. Every dish they served was so beautifully plated and also delicious. I will definitely stay here again if I visit Lake District.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Juliana L,
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe. We appreciate all feedback that we received as it allows us to better our services to our guests.

It’s fabulous to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us from a few years ago, and you still have a picture of our beautiful building as your background. The hotel is certainly tranquil being set slightly above Bowness-On-Windermere. A lot of people stay with us for respite from their busy lives.

I am so glad to hear that the housekeeping team worked hard to arrange your bedroom & pillows to your preference – we like to make sure you are comfortable during your stay with us.

We do like to feed you well during your stay with us, so that you enjoy the local ingredients of the Lake District and so you are ready to tackle any mountains during your stay.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stay at Lindeth Howe for four nights every March, choosing the same lovely room. This year we had our reservations as we had seen photos of the refurbishment of the Lounge and Bar area. We have to say we were not at all impressed with these changes, although they were an improvement on the pictures we had seen, as they had totally destroyed the `Country House ` feel. The new furniture was , in the main, uncomfortable with high `cafe `looking tables and the overall effect was far too fussy and in our opinion, a little bit tacky. The newly created function room which used to be the swimming pool, was a good idea but, again, the furnishings were far too busy. However, despite our disappointment our room was still lovely and comfortable with its' beautiful views over the Lake, and we were pleased with the refurbished bathroom. We had had a`De Luxe Afternoon Tea` bought for us as a present and this was absolutely yummy! The sandwiches were fresh and tasty and the deserts very indulgent ! We would recommend you try this if you stay at Lindeth. We thought all the meals were exceptional this year - breakfasts well cooked and presented and dinner superb- compliments to the Chef- he excelled himself. All the staff in every part of the Hotel were excellent and any small problems we encountered were dealt with quickly and in a very professional manner. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay - albeit not as relaxing as it could have been - there are very few comfortable chairs with lower tables !! Also, one other small thing- there was still renovation work ongoing so there was quite a bit of drilling and hammering noise. We would suggest requesting a room as far away from any work for a more peaceful stay. We will still return next March !

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Front Office Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear JourneymanMerseyside,

Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe. It’s brilliant to hear that you are a returning guest, staying loyal to us over the years.

Our refurbishment to the ground floor areas was a bold move from the traditional look that we used to have in the public areas and we knew it would ruffle a few feathers on the way. We have listened to guest feedback regarding the refurb and have since had a move around and some new furniture delivered, the sitting room & bar now have more comfortable seating in including comfortable leather sofas in front of the log burner.

Our management team worked hard with a local team of interior designers to keep the history of the hotel and Beatrix potter alive but with varied modern twists. This refurbishment is part of an on-going transition for the hotel and with the transition we have since dropped ‘country house hotel’ from our business name as we do not find it in keeping with the direction that the hotel is moving in and will be known as Lindeth Howe.

I am glad you were happy with your favourite room and are happy with the changes/ upgrade made to the bathroom, I am sure your agree that it was very much needed. Luckily for us, the Lake will never move so it can be enjoyed by you from your room.

I will pass your amazing comments onto our Head Chef and his team as they certainly work hard to provide the best food, whether it’s bar food, breakfast or an evening meal in our award winning restaurant.

The team are trained to the highest standards here at Lindeth Howe and work hard to go and above & beyond to make sure you have the best, most comfortable stay in a home from home environment.

We look forward to welcoming you again in March 2019.

Kind regards,
Samantha
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews