We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,094)
Filter reviews
1,094 results
Traveller rating
708
249
86
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
249
86
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beatrix potter afternoon tea lovely hotel travelzoo deal country house hotel course dinner on arrival scones lake district deluxe room turn down service window seat log fire amuse bouche no lift superb food public rooms
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,094 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I think that this was the most wonderful stay we have ever had at any hotel anywhere. The hotel itself and its position are exquisite (used to belong to Beatrix Potter). Our room was superb and all the staff were incredibly helpful and always had a smile on their faces. As to the food.....well you would die for it. The hotel was full but service was incredible and the set piece dinner on New Years Eve simply superb. I can guarantee that you will never stay at a better hotel.... anywhere!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Hello John H
WOW thank you for your tremendous review of Lindeth Howe Hotel. I’m so pleased that you have had a great time with us. I will pass on all your lovely comments to the whole team at the hotel and we do hope to see you again in the very near future.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Had a wonderful pre Christmas Day visit. A lovely welcome from very friendly helpful staff. The hotel so comfortable and had a great Christmassy feeling.
Enjoyed glass of Prosecco, warm scrummy scones and pot of tea on arrival.
Fab room overlooking the lake, very comfortable. The little touches went a long way.
Dinner was incredible, best ever. Outstanding. Compliments to the Chef.
Thank you so much to all the staff. Wishing you all a Happy New Year.
We will be back soon. A & P

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank smiler080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Hello smiler080
It’s great to hear you have had a FAB time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We have just stayed here recently for the first time, but are regular visitors to the Lake District.

Bought a 2 night stay through Secret Escapes, with dinner included on one evening, although we paid for the other nights dinner.

Lovely location just above Lake Windermere, we had upgraded to a superior room, so partial view of the lake and lovely views of the gardens.

Lead up to Christmas, the hotel was made up with Xmas decorations, very tasteful and not over the top.

Excellent lounge and bar area, good service and excellent restaurant.

The room was well appointed and bed very comfortable, bathroom a little on the small side, but fine.

Dinner on both evenings were superb, good choice on the menu and excellent food.

A couple of very minor ‘downsides’, no local beers on draft and no ‘blonde’ beer, even in a bottle.

The choice and quality of breakfast was fine, but not as good as other hotels we have stayed in.

Key question...would be return?....absolutely.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hello Steve S
It’s wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will certainly be passing on all your great comments to all at the hotel and we will look forward to welcoming you to Lindeth Howe on your next visit to the Lake District.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Had a family get together and what a wonderful experience we had. We arrived to a very good afternoon tea and were then shown to our rooms. We were upgraded to the lovely Potter Room which was very well appointed but all the rooms were very comfortable. The whole hotel was very Christmassy with lovely open fires. We were very lucky as we had some snow which made it feel very festive. We were served a delightful dinner in the private dining room with excellent service. The staff were all friendly and attentive. The only negative I can offer is the drinks at the bar are rather expensive. Overall an excellent stay and would love to go back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank BinthereCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hello BinthereCheshire
Thank you for your review of Lindeth Howe. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful time with us and we will look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bowness on Windermere.
Best Wishes
All at Lindeth Howe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Received a voucher as a gift. No warm welcome at Reception; we were walked passed by a staff member who didn’t even say we’ll be with you shortly. Taken into lounge and thought and got the impression we would be taken through to a table but were served our afternoon tea there on the sofas. Quite tricky to eat in such a setting. Sandwiches were nice, no complaints however the cakes were poor. The profiterole was very hard and not light and fluffy like they should be. The mince pie pastry wasn’t light and fluffy. Our waiter was ‘ok’. He went through a couple of cakes including the mince pies which weren’t present on the cake stand, he had to go and get these. Prosecco not brought and had to ask for despite telling we had voucher for Deluxe afternoon tea. We weren’t offered further tea/top-up. It lacked a personal touch and friendliness. Disappointing as this is considered a high end hotel. Unfortunately we won’t visit again. When writing this review I took into account how busy it was when we were there and it wasn’t in anyway busy.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank LECR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hello LECR81
Thank you for taking the time to review your afternoon tea with us, I can assure you that Chris our head chef & food and beverage manager will be dealing with all the point you have brought to our attention.
Kind Regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews