We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,093)
Filter reviews
1,093 results
Traveller rating
707
249
86
25
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
249
86
25
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beatrix potter afternoon tea lovely hotel travelzoo deal country house hotel course dinner on arrival scones lake district deluxe room turn down service log fire amuse bouche no lift superb food public rooms relaxing break
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,093 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Travelzoo deal £159, 1 night DBB and afternoon tea. From entering the hotel to our departure the next day, everything was absolute top quality. On arrival, we were warmly greeted and taken on a tour of the hotel and shown to our room. The bedroom was a large cosy room with most enormous bed I have ever laid eyes on. We sat in one of the lounges, very homely and comfortable, for our afternoon tea. What a treat this was, being both top quality and lots of choice, plus a glass of sparkling wine. It gets even better with dinner, which offered a good choice and proved to be the nicest meal we have had. The price of the wine and the bar drinks was also reasonable. Bed turned down at night with a chocolate on the pillow - another nice touch. The breakfast as we now expected also did not disappoint. Throughout the staff were efficient and friendly. The hotel achieved a balance of making you feel very welcome without a snobby undertone. My only disappointment is that we had only booked one night. Look for the next deal and treat yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john0653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Dear John0653
Thank you for you lovely review of Lindeth Howe Country Hotel, I have pass on your great comments to the Team.
The Team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Lindeth Howe in the very near future.
Kindest Regards
Tony Holden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

well we had not had a good start to our holiday as our hired Land rover discovery had broken down on the way up from the not so sunny Devon ! it was replaced by the hire firm for a newer one so that was a bonus . We normally stay in self catering for our annual and only holiday of the year but htis time we decided to try B&B , We booked late only 3 weeks before !( cutting it a bit fine I know ! but we had a late deal . )The internet web site had a ttracted us but when we arrived it was even better than we exspected , Boy was it grand we had never stayed in such a posh place and we were treated like kings and queens ( our teenage girls 15/19 like princesses ) the rooms were spacious and lovely and warm ( important for this time of year ) it was very clean and tidy the water flow in the bathroom /shower was amazing the bath filled in about 2 mins flat with oodles of hot water the rooms were serviced twice daily with an evening turn down service ( we had never exsperienced this before , basically they just turned down the sheets ready to get in to bed !! with a free mint on the pillows ) we also chose this hotel as it had aswimming pool which we used 3 time and was clean and warm with extra towels to dry off with . The breakfasts were also truly fab , being able to have just what you wanted , so there you have it nothing more to say other than thank you to all the staff for well spoilt restfull stay . A1

Room Tip: front rooms had pretty good views There is three stories so choose first floor to save the feet .
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEALEYS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Bealeys 14,

Thank you for your fabulous review of Lindeth Howe Hotel. My goodness you really had a tough start to your holiday by having car troubles on your way up. However we are thrilled to bits you decided to book Lindeth Howe rather than your usual self-catering holiday. May we hope you decide to stay with us for your annual holiday from now on?

We have just launched our new website and it would be great to hear what you think of it.

We are so pleased you felt like Royalty, we do strive to achieve this. I have passed on your wonderful comments to all our team who are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

May we wish you all the very best for the festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My wife and I had a lovely long weekend at this hotel in October this year. The AA 2 rosette restaurant was tastefully decorated, the staff were friendly and attentive, and the food was excellent. We had a very comfortable room with garden and a partial lake view. We will definitely return. The swimming pool is small but adequate and we did not use the spa service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindeth_Howe_CHH, General Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Paul B,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you had a lovely weekend at Lindeth Howe Hotel and you enjoyed your dining experience here. I have passed on your very kind compliments to our team who are pleased you enjoyed our delicious food and service. Just to let you know that we are very excited to tell you that in January we are planning to totally refurbish our Dining Room and would love you to come and stay with us again and see our new Dining Room.

May we wish you all the very best for the festive season and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Alison.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Ideal for older couples looking for a quiet weekend away. Not entirely what we expected of a four star hotel. Comfortable rooms with good quality food but the breakfast and dinner service was very rushed. Staff hovered over you and couldn't wait to take your plate. Being charged £4 unexpectedly for a dental kit left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaHicks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Emma Hicks

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and a friendly service and welcome the comments of our guest. I would like to think that the Lindeth Howe is suited to all ages as we do cater for everyone of any age.
I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Manager Sunil, who will look into this matter straight away.
I have also spoken to reception as you should of been informed of the price when purchasing the dental pack.
I hope this will not put you off returning to the lindeth howe in the future.

regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

If you are coming to the lakes district you must stay at the Lindeth Howe Country House. It is what you can expect as the consummate English hotel experience with excellent service, very friendly and interested staff who like doing their job and give the impression of being proud of being part of the place.

The house has all the old world charm you would expect, from the fire being set in the morning in the main lounge to the furnishings and very comfortable lounges and chairs. The food is excellent and the service is very good. Make sure you get a room over looking the lake a fantastic view to wake up to.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the lake and also go to the hotel web site to see what specials they have on offer we got a fantastic deal on our trip
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie-traveller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Dear Aussie-traveller89

Thank you for your kindest words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I will pass on your comments to our heads of department, who will let there teams know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
I hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon.

Thank you

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews