We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Lovely break, . The food was fine dining just like "master chef", and the service was excellent, all the staff were very helpful. Swimming pool only small but adequate. Room was smaller than expected, but had everything we needed, unfortunately it was a bit cluttered around the dresser with table and chairs, even though it was superior room. It overlooked the gardens, and you could just see the lake through the trees. Room 105.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear anne3653

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much with us at the hotel. I shall pass on your kind words to our head chef Marc Guilbert, who will be so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience in our reastaurant.

Kindest Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    206
    67
    20
    18
See reviews for
123
568
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. We took advantage of one of the special offers of £75 per person dinner bed and breakfast. A really friendly young lady showed us around the hotel and took us to our room, 111 on the first floor with a lovely view of the gardens and you could just about see the odd boat sailing on the lake. As the room was on the corner, we had views front and side. The young lady happily took our suitcase for us up the stairs. Everything was immaculate with bottled water and lovely bath robes, White Company toiletries. I saw someone remarked that the inside looked like an old people's home but it felt comfortable and charming with the high ceilings and cornices and lovely views over the gardens. Sitting before dinner in a comfy chair, looking at the menu and being served drinks and canopes was a lovely treat. Dinner was absolutely delicious, with many wonderful flavours. I cannot praise the staff too much, nothing was too much trouble and they easily got on the wavelength of my husband who likes 'plain' sauces etc etc!! He even tried food that he thought he wouldn't like and loved them. Again the lovely dining room overlooking the gardens was a pleasure. Returning to our room, the turndown service was great, and especially the choccies on our pillows! Breakfast had an excellent choice. Location is very handy close to Bowness and surrounding areas. I enjoyed a swim in the pool, although a bit small, it didn't matter as there was only one other lady there. Loved the sauna.

Only 'small' thing I would say was that when we arrived a bit early we weren't offered the option to sit in one of the lounges or take afternoon tea as is mentioned in the brochure. Although we were offered to leave our luggage. Think it could have been a bit friendlier, but everything else far outweighed this.

I have heard about these boutique hotels and their prices but you can't fault good English service and politness, and attention to detail. You can see that I really am a convert to Lindeth Howe! We feel totally relaxed, after a busy few months of house renovations we really needed a break. Thank you LIndeth Howe, if you will have us back we will return!

Room Tip: Our room was 111 and only had one adjoining bedroom. It had views to the front and the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbasec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Abbasec

Thank you for your fantastic response about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.
We are so pleased that you choose our hotel to celebrate your husbands 60th birthday and that you enjoyed it so much, espeically after your busy last few months.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards of service and friendliness to our guest, and are so pleased when it is recognised by others.
We will look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel but after a week of travelling in the Lake District we had been spoilt. The hotel makes a big deal about being the ex-home of Beatrix Potter but in reality the building has been expanded beyond recognition and now feels nothing like the beautiful home seen in the old pictures. Its more like a bland city centre hotel on the inside now and the gardens were very neglected once you got past the immediate terrace areas. The lounges had the feel of an old people's home about them, crammed with high-backed chairs. The food was ok but very bland and expensive for what it was at over £50 per head for the evening meal. Looking at other reviews I'd suggest this hotel would appeal more to older clientele who would appreciate the location close to Bowness and Lake Windermere and the main tourist attractions. If you are younger and more energetic skip Bowness and head out to the hills proper where there are hundreds of more authentic country house hotels and luxury boutique B&Bs for the same price. (£175 for 2 people B&B on Sat night in May)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advice55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Advise 55

Thank you for your comments about the Lindeth Howe Hotel.
We at the hotel our so sorry that your experience of the Lindeth Howe it didn't live upto your expectations. I will pass on your comments to our heads of department ofr then to look at.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this lovely hotel. We like room 111 which has a great double aspect. The hotel offers such good value for money, comfort, very good food, excellent staff and wine that is reasonable priced the black shiraz being my favourite. The hotel is located in a wonderful position, great for walking and site seeing. We visit the lakes whenever we can, Lindeth Howe makes for a great stay.
Thank you to all the staff looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear sparkey 55

Thank you for your kind words about the Lindeth Howe hotel.
We at the hotel aim for high standard of service and a freindly and comfortable stay for all our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us agian and will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kindest regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Had afternoon tea at this hotel as a treat for my mums 70th birthday. It was lovely. We also got a tour of the hotels rooms by a very friendly member of staff. Will definitely be booking a few days break here !

Room Tip: 105 was my fave room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voodoosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Voodoo sue

We at the Lindeth Howe are so happy that your mum enjoyed her 70th birthday at the hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed the afternnon tea.
We at the hotel pride ourselves on high standards and are always willing to help any of our guest.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your show round of the hotel and will look forward to you staying soon.
Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.7 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.5 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
1.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.5 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): $156 - $407
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing