We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea, delicious!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
the lake district
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea, delicious!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a great afternoon tea. As it was a lovely, rare sunny day in bowness we sat in the beautiful garden. There were four of us, so each choose a different flavour sandwich (all delicious) the cakes and scones were also very good, great tea and very yummy sparkling wine. Super service. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tortuerodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Tortuerodney

Thank you for your wonderful reveiw of the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel pride ourselves on a high standard of service and are delighted when our guest recognise this.
I am so glad that you were able to enjoy one of our home made afternoon teas in our wonderful gardens and will let our gardeners Dave and Aiden know that you liked them so much.
Thank you again, I will pass on your comments to the rest of the Lindeth Howe team and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    228
    73
    23
    21
See reviews for
134
616
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband recently to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We booked an excellent value deal which included dinner, bed & breakfast plus afternoon tea on both days plus a bottle of wine.

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and we we lucky enough to have a room overlooking Windermere. The room wasn't huge but it was perfectly adequate for the 2 of us. It was spotless, as was the bathroom. Amenities in the room included tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer and bathrobes.

The public areas of the hotel are very comfortable and we enjoyed afternoon tea on both days looking over the garden.

Dinner on both nights was excellent although if I had one complaint it would be that the service was a little rushed. We had to request a break on both eveinings. This didn't detract from the experience at all and I'd gladly return to visit the restaurant alone.

As we'd mentioned our anniversary when booking, a card had been left in our room for us which was a very thoughtful touch.

This isn't a huge hotel but if you'd like an intimate and relaxing break I'd highly recommend it. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Northern southener

We at the Lindeth Howe are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. Im so glad that you liked our gardens with the beautiful back drop of the lake district mountains, this really helps towards the relaxing atmosphere that we have created at the Lindeth Howe. Thank you for your wonderful comments about the hotel and we will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Once again we have had a memorable stay at Lindeth Howe. The staff are really excellent - even remembering which pre-dinner drinks we ordered the previous night and our room numbers. Food is sublime. We had a lovely lake view room which was very spacious. Truly lovely place to spend time. Thank you Lindeth Howe.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnej1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Lynnej1949

Thank you for your kind reveiw about the Lindeth Howe Hotel. We at the hotel are always glad to hear the feed back from our guest, weather it was ther first time staying with us or one of our many returning guests. I shall pass on your kind words to the team and will look forward to seeing you again at The Lindeth Howe Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This turned out to be the best birthday treat ever and all secretly planned by my wife. On arriving we weren't so sure, though, as the receptionist was a bit distracted by a missing party of 12 who had " got lost" on route. But as soon as she showed us to our room we were on our own route to heaven.
The room was magnificent with a large comfortable bed, lovely old fashioned furniture, a sparkling bathroom and more than complemented with a stunning view down onto Lake Windermere. The famous writer-illustrator, Beatrix Potter, knew what she was about when she bought this country house for her mother. Now it's been transformed into a wonderful hotel with plenty of Potter photographs around the place to remind visitors of it's historical significance.
We stayed for three nights with dinner and breakfast and I enjoyed some of the best food I've ever sampled in the UK. Meals were taken in the delightfully regal dining hall and the mainly Spanish staff were absolutely charming and friendly. Don't miss the home made sticky toffee pudding if you've any room left after the previous four courses.
The hotel does boast an indoor swimming pool but I didn't see any of the guests using it. Mostly they were more middle aged with a sprinkling of younger couples. But expect the pool to be well flooded with children when they starting arriving during the main holiday season.
We found the hotel, around a mile outside the bustling Bowness centre, a perfect base for
our little meanders around the southern Lakes to track down the ghostly haunts of William Wordsworth and of course, Beatrix Potter.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view though this may cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Orionbob

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Lindeth Howe so much.
Our staff at the hotel pride thenselves on a high standard of service and are thrilled to hear the feed back from our guest. I will pass on your comments to the heads of departments, who will inform there staff of your kind comments.
we will look forward to seeing you back at the Lindeth Howe Hotel soon.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed at the Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel for 3 nights with dinner,bed and breakfast and had the most wonderful time.The staff are excellent and could not do enough to make us feel very welcome and special.Our room was big and spacious with a huge and very comfortable bed.The view of the gardens from our window was lovely.The bathroom was very well appointed and there was always hot water and the shower over the bath was excellent.
The room was beautifully furnished and the television on the wall was a contemporary twist to traditionally and beautifully decorated furnishings.Everything had been thought of and the tea and coffee making facilities were always replenished.The chocolates on the pillows in the evening were a lovely thought.
The lounges in the hotel were welcoming and very comfortable,a lovely place to sit and relax in the evening after our meal.We were served canapes here before we were taken to the dining room.
No matter how beautiful a hotel is,the restaurant has to be good to make you return.The restaurant here is absolutely first class with extensive menus.On each evening we chose the 5 course menus and can say without reservation that every course we ate was beautifully presented and tasted delicious.The Chef is a treasure and must be congratulated.The wine list was very comprehensive and the prices were very reasonable.
As everywhere in the hotel,the dining room staff were exceptionally polite and efficient and so willing to please.Many thanks.
We were given the opportunity to fill in a comments form so that the management could take heed of any issues which we thought could be improved upon.I could not think of anything that I thought needed to be improved.We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel and will be returning very soon.
The whole experience was a joy.Our thanks to every member of the staff for making our stay so special.
GEORGE GILMORE

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyHolden, Manager at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Ruthiemac

Thank you for your lovely reveiw of the Lindeth Howe Hotel. I shall pass on all your comment to our head chef Marc and the restaurant manager Sunil, who will inform there staff of your wonderful reveiw. We at the hotel do pride ourselves on giving a high standard of service and are so pleased when it is recognised by our guest.
We will look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Paul Holden
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
1.5 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
1.3 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
1.1 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel

Property: Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Address: Longtail Hill Lindeth Drive, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): $197 - $474
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover peaceful surroundings and breathtaking views of the English Lake District at Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel. Located within walking distance of the lakeside village of Bowness-on-Windermere, Lindeth Howe overlooks Lake Windermere, the largest lake in the country and the Cumbrian fells beyond.This unique 4 star country house hotel was once owned by the best-loved children's author Beatrix Potter, and boasts 34 beautiful bedrooms, cosy lounges and a fantastic 2 AA Rosette Dining Room which is also open to non residents. Guests are also invited to relax by our indoor pool, sauna, fitness room and indulge themselves in various body treatments and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindeth Howe Country Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country Windermere
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing