We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
792
247
74
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
792
247
74
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hipping hall evening meal cream tea lovely hotel travelzoo offer whirlpool bath the ground floor venison lake district cheese board afternoon tea standard room small portions tasting menu comfortable lounge scones lake view room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have found England to be. a country filled with beauty and charm and the Ryebeck was not short on either! The perfect amount of rooms, not overcrowded. The sitting rooms and dining rooms have a stunning views of Lake Windemere, the mountains and beautiful grounds. The guest rooms have the same views, comfortable, immaculate and you truly felt like a special guest. The food was amazing, we couldn't decide what to order, so many amazing choices prepared by an award winning chef with whom we had the pleasure to meet. Having a hospitality background, we were impressed with the customer service, attention to detail and pride in this little gem from everyone there. Our next time to the lake district THIS will be the only place we stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Quest770020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely hotel and in fantastic location...everything is nearby. Its also very simple to get to Keswick, Grasmere and Ambleside. Cant fault the location.

The hotel has lovely grounds and as we took our dog this was a very nice addition to be able to take him for a morning walk before breakfast.

On the subject, breakfast was lovely. Great hot choices and nice cold buffet to get stuck into.

The evening menu I thought was a bit to 'try hard'. The restaurant seems to lack atmosphere which is a shame as the views were lovely. I feel instead of trying to do fine dining...why not do some classic British dishes really well. We had bad weather when we visited and when we got in all we wanted was to sit down next to a log fire and have a pie or some steak. I feel that would be more in keeping with the style of the beautiful hotel.

All staff however do an excellent job and are very friendly.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank RichWaycot-Bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Brilliant service. Food excellent
Great location for exploring Windermere
Just 25 minutes walk to catch ferry at Bowes-on-Windermere
Great walks. A good few from the hotel

Great views from the terrace.
Will visit again hopefully

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank neilaldersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Just back from an overnight stay. First impression on walking in to the reception was oh dear the area was a bit dated but oh my once shown to our room we thought wow. The room was beautiful . Decor and furnishings were lovely very tasteful, bed was massive and a Juliet balcony to finish it off. Bathroom was pristine clean and very modern. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful and the dining room staff were ever so friendly. We had a wonderful dinner in the evening, Beautiful presented and superb food. Breakfast was equally good. Great choice. Best breakfast have ever had. Eggs Benedict for me was 1st class. Hubby had full Englisk breakfast. The black pudding was to die for. The buffet selection had an amazing choice. This hotel is an easy 20 min walk into Bowness where we spent the day. Had a lovely lunch in Trattoria. Wonderful pizzas. Will definitely return to the Ryebeck and will go for 2 nights instead of 1..

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 fantastic nights at the Ryebeck Hotel to celebrate my birthday. From the moment we arrived we felt special & so welcome. Helena greeted us with such a gorgeous warm smile & welcoming conversation. We were taken to our room which was amazing with views across the Lake from our Juliet Balcony & views over the lovely grounds.
In the lounge we had a tray with tea in very comfortable surroundings.
Breakfast & Dinner were both excellent.The dinner menu was superb served by again very friendly staff. The presentation was excellent & flavours very delicate.
We really enjoyed this lovely country house hotel & really look forward to returning in the near future.
Thank you everyone for making my celebratory weekend special.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews