We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and fantastic staff”
Review of The Ryebeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ryebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed here for a long weekend. We stayed in room 7 and as I am a light sleeper, I found this room ideal as it is down a corridor with only one other room, so very quiet. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The room was great with new towels, sheets and a very new looking and well maintained room. The food in the restaurant was also very good. We had dinner here on 2 nights and enjoyed both. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank LAMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights , Friday to Sunday , in a Superb room with amazing views of Lake Windermere . Lovely bathroom with corner Jacuzzi - Ate in the restaurant on both evenings - lovely menu , beautifully cooked and presented food , with good service , in a very attractive Dining Room . Wine list is quite small but some decent stuff at very reasonable prices . Very well stocked bar , very cozy , and lovely Lounge with great views . Lovely 10 minute walk in to Bowness .

We will definitely be back some day .

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidFlatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Booked one of the best rooms in the property and thought it very good value for money as it included dinner bed and breakfast.The staff were lovely and our room had everything we needed.We had views over Lake Windermere and the hotel had a lounge where we could relax and read provided magazines and newspapers.The restaurant faced the lake and the food was delicious.There was a small bar which wasnt overpriced and we were looked after extremely well by the friendly staff.I will definitely be going back and will recommend it to all my friends.We even saw deer and pheasants roaming in the grounds

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Just returned after a lovely break at the hotel, great rooms with very comfortable beds and nice modern bathrooms!
The food was outstanding thanks to Andy and team, the service was excellent from every staff member and nothing was too much trouble.
Thank you Duncan and everyone at this fantastic hotel, see you next year!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank iocasti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We have just returned from a three day break at the Ryebeck and have enjoyed every minute of our stay.
Thanks to the manager Duncan and his hard working staff for looking after us,
I would also like to thank the Chef Andy and his staff, for giving us such outstanding
well cooked food to eat .
See you all next year

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
1.6 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
1.2 km away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
1.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ryebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ryebeck

Address: Lyth Valley Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JP, England (Formerly Fayrer Garden House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $178 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ryebeck 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Windermere's best kept secret. Situated in 5 acres of secluded grounds, this elegant country house hotel sits overlooking Lake Windermere. Our stunning restaurant has fabulous lake views and serves an exciting menu carefully constructed using locally sourced ingredients. Our welcoming lounges and bedrooms are individually designed and decorated to a high standard. All bedrooms are en-suite with most lake view rooms boasting whirlpool baths. We have a selection of pet friendly accommodation. Please contact the hotel directly for details. Please note that dogs are charged at £20.00 per dog per stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ryebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fayrer Garden Hotel
Hotel Fayrer Garden
The Ryebeck Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing