We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful location and views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

On arrival in the car park my impression was of a Hotel that needed some TLC some of the wood seemed rotten and wires were trailing from the building. I was pleasantly surprised when we entered the building. The staff could not have been better, the views were tremendous and the location is perfect. The TV in our room was good and the Wifi worked well. The bathroom was dated but clean, the tiles had been painted and were fresh. The bathroom was extemely small though and so was the shower, no bath. Shame the fires downstairs were not real and our room was cold, a heater was provided when I asked at reception for one and this did warm our room up. The pool was large and pleasantly warm but could do with some TLC also. Decoration has obviously been carried out quite recently and the overall impression was that the Hotel is receiving investment but its going to take time. Some beautiful features and a treasure of a building. Really excellent helpful staff and extremely good value at £59 for 2 people bed and breakfast. Very happy with our choice and yes I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB88187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I have noted your observations with regards to first impressions and your comments with regards to TLC. We will take these on board as will remedy as we progress with our maintenance programme. The offer you booked on was extremely popular and one we will repeat during quieter times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    343
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
214
744
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Sorry for the delay, but we have been waiting for our photos. We got married at the Belsfield in September 2011 and it was wonderful. Although it rained rather a lot on our wedding day, the setting, the staff, service, delicious and beautifully presented food, and the character of the hotel itself more than made up for this. The people who review this hotel as "tired" are totally missing the point - this is a REAL historical house, and the renovations are in keeping with the period, unlike some "pseudo historical" country house hotels. If you organise a wedding or special function here, you are not getting some bland conference room, but the feel of a stately home (especially in the beautiful "Adam Room", the magnificent "moonwaters Restaurant" over-looking the lake, and the drawing room areas - and at a price that is very reasonable, with an unsurpassed location. The staff were extremely helpful in making our day special, especially Mr. Jobson and Kate Conroy, who were very organised and knew exactly what they were doing. You really would have to "go some" to outshine this as a wedding venue in the Lake District - as all our guests agreed. Many of our guests stayed with us for the two nights and really had a great time. I'd post more photos (we just got the album today and are delighted - the setting is stunning) but most of them have identifiable people in them. I highly recommend this hotel for a special occasion, or just for a lovely break. Oh yes, you can just walk out of the French windows and straight down through the lovely private gardens to the lake - what more could you want?

Room Tip: Lake view room - if you can - even better, a suite or 4 poster......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JollitaMcJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you both for your generous feedback following your Special Day Last September. We allways enjoy special ocassions and Weddings are extra special and both Kate and I appreciate your kind comments. Our Location is unique not only in its setting but as you expressed so well the Belsfield is an Historic House and a magnificent venue for any ocassion.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your 1st Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I stayed the Belsfield for one night as we were walking in the Lakes and managed to get a deal. Our room was cold even with the radiator on full, we had to plug in an additional heater to warm the room up whilst we went for something to eat. I didn't sllep too well as I woke up feeling cold. The window was single-glazed so when we pulled back the curtains in the morning we couldn't see out of it due to the condensation. Breakfast was ok, nothing special. This hotel is fine for a cheap and cheerful night away bit not for a special occasion. It is situated in a fantastic location but needs a lot of time and money spent on it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstBrad44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. When the weather is as severe as it currently is we do keep the central heating on 24 hours a day to try to maintain satisfactory level of heating to our bedrooms. This is a challenge for us so we privide portable heaters to assist. I am sorry this was still not sufficient to keep you warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geordie in the Toon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went to the Belsfield on the worst day of the winter on 4th february 2012. We read the weather forecasts about the snow, but went anyway. We checked in at 2pm and immediately got an upgrade to a Lake view on the first floor, this was extremely well received by us and the lady on reception made sure it was ok on the first floor because i had expressed in my booking that i wanted a low floor because of my asthma. I think the hotel wasn't very busy either. The room was nice but a bit chilly, but there was an extra electric radiator to use. We had a nice shower room with toilet. The hotel has been painted recently and has some nice sitting rooms to gaze over the lake at. (in our case the snowy lake) In the morning we had breakfast in the large dining room and this was very nice cooked breakfast as well. There weren't many people around but i think the weather had spoilt it for people. This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location, i will be going back to experience it again , but maybes in the summer months.

Room Tip: Got to be lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyboopaloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Thank you for your 'Belsfield in the Snow' review after your stay last week end. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and appreciated the snowy views from your bedroom and comfortable public lounge areas. Our central heating is a challenge even with the supplementary heater. Thank you for your photograph and hopefully when you next return you will see blue skies and sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I checked in on Friday 13th for a 2 night stay b,b &eve meal. Upon arrival the welcoming receptionist advised us we had a complimentary upgrade to a lake view room, the hotels gift for our 22nd wedding anniversary. The room was very spacious and beautiful. The views were outstanding. The food was exceptional on both days with plenty of choice. The reception staff, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff were extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble. Each morning we both made use of the pool and sauna before breakfast, the photo of the pool area on the website makes the pool look a lot smaller than it actually was. The pool, sauna and changing areas were spotlessly clean.
The hotel decor is a little tired in a couple of areas, but this really does add to the character. I tend to disagree with the comment about the bar prices, for a hotel we found the prices reasonable, you will always pay more in hotels than bars. We definately recommend this hotel and could not find fault with anything. We have stayed in lots of b&b's in the lakes and frequent it regularly, it is definately worth paying that little extra und upgrading to this hotel. We will definately re-visit.
Thank you to all at the Belsfield for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Definately recommend a lake view room, it is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We are so pleased you chose the Belsfield as part of your 22nd Wedding Anniversary and we met your expectations in all respects judging from your feedback. When we are able according to demand we are more than happy to offer complimentary upgrades to further enhance our guests stay.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,729 reviews
1.2 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
2.7 km away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.4 km away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price range (per night): $214 - $400
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Wotif.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing