We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“CHRISTMAS PARTY LUNCH & DISCO” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
STOKE-ON-TRENT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“CHRISTMAS PARTY LUNCH & DISCO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Our company (Chesworths Solicitors) once again (5th time) held our 2011 lunch and disco Christmas event at the Borough Arms Hotel in the King Room. The food was lovely and the service from both the management and staff was superb, both on the day and during the organising of it. Everyone had a great time and it was just a shame that this year no other companies had booked their event on the same date. However, they were still able to offer us the meal and the disco afterwards which was brilliant. Thank you for a lovely Christmas party, once again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    120
    45
    29
    13
See reviews for
173
85
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We would like to thank the management and all the staff on duty on Saturday 21st January who helped make our day so special at short notice. Both the layout of the King Room for the wedding breakfast and the restaurant for the evening reception were excellent.

We found the staff helpful, polite and able to accomodate requests made during the day.
Thanks from
Liz and Richard

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lastley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I had my 18th birthday party in the King Suite, we had a fantastic night!! The food and disco were brilliant!! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, I would recomend it for all parties!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Christmas Day 2011 and where should a group of 11 go for a meal where there is great food and service but we were able to be ourselves , take our time and relax in pleasant surroundings. Ofcourse the answer is the Borough Hotel,Newcastle under Lyme. A definite must try or anyone within our area. A big thank you to all the staff at the Borough much better than we had hoped for.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel staff was undoubtedly the best and most efficient staff that we have ever experienced in our many years of travel through the United States, Asia and Europe.
The hotel is older but the accomodations were quite adequate for our needs. The only
negative comment I will make is that International Travelers with substantial luggage should
request assistance from staff in getting their luggage to their room, when staying in the
hotel itself, and not the annex (there is no lift or as we call it an elevator). We will definately stay here again, during our next visit.Good pub and restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.7 km away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price range (per night): $92 - $99
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing