We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Substandard establishment”
Review of The Sandcombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sandcombe
Ranked #24 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2010

One of the poorest B&B Hotels we have stayed at, bed linen was dirty and had not been changed, pokey room with too much furniture and overall a forgettable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Southink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DASWeymouth, Owner at The Sandcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2010

Ho ho, we had been waiting for this one!

What this couple failed to mention was that in spite of our complete and utter assurance that the bed linen WAS clean (the lady had found a mysterious stray hair in the bed which we had no sight of. They didn’t mention it being dirty). However, we stripped the bed and changed it AGAIN in their presence.

The room HAS got a lot of furniture as it is our family room which sleeps 5 people. Our double rooms had been reserved by couples who had wanted week bookings. This couple were staying ONE night before travelling to the Channel Islands and ONE night on their return.

It would have been nice if they had left some POSITIVE feedback, for instance, they failed to mention the time we spent on the internet and telephone to Condor ferries trying to establish whether their sailing was going ahead the next morning following ferry disruptions.

They also failed to mention the time we spent on the telephone trying to contact their car hire company to drop off their car and when we couldn’t, I then spent ¾ hour driving to the depot with the gentleman following so he would not get lost and I then drove him back. Ok, he did give me a fiver for our trouble.

They also failed to mention that they returned to our establishment on their return from the Channel Islands. Could it have been SO bad?

Again it shows that it does not matter how much you do for some people they will never be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

Our family booked 5 rooms at the Sandcombe and we had a lovely time there. David and Sheila were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Lovely views from the winows - will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KentishMaid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The Sandcombe guesthouse has a wonderful location. From the breakfast room you can view Weymouths fantastic beach. Our room was overlooking the harbour, it was fairly basic but very clean and had everthing we needed for our two night stay, the view was wonderful. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. They were also very helpful with parking, they do get a limited amout of permit passes, of which we were lucky enough to get one. The location of this guesthouse is great, it is so close to the beach and the harbour. There is an amazing choice of places to eat and drink. We took the boat along to Portland where the Olympic sailing will be, we found a lovely place for lunch called 'The Boat that Rocks'.
All in all, a brilliant break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soozienewshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Absolutely prime location on Weymouth's Esplanade. Front view of glorious beach, and the back windows look out onto the harbour. David and Sheila are fantastic hosts, and made us feel very comfortable, David kindly kitted out our youngest with bucket and spades and our eldest with crab line and bucket. We stayed in Family Room 5, which was perfectly adaquate even if on the small side (we were not expecting spacious). Comfy beds. Breakfasts very good too! All in all, will definately our first choice when visiting Weymouth.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spacehopper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I stayed here with my boyfriend for two nights, it was our second time here as we also stayed in july 09. Dave and Sheila are such warm welcoming hosts and make you feel very welcome. The breakfasts are wonderful, I have stayed in quite a few b and bs guesthouses and hotels and have to say this breakfast gets first place! the room we stayed in was nice clean and airy with a toilet and shower which was kept very clean. We had a double room with a view out to weymouth harbour which was very pretty for sitting by the window having a glass of wine. Weymouth is a great place to stay with lots to see and do around it. i would reccomend the sealife park for a day out and prezzos here is an excelent restaurant to go to! the beah is lovely too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
231 reviews
0.5 km away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#74 of 166 in Weymouth
57 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ocean Guest House
The Ocean Guest House
#81 of 166 in Weymouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 166 in Weymouth
298 reviews
0.6 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 166 in Weymouth
261 reviews
0.1 km away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#33 of 166 in Weymouth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Weymouth

Been to The Sandcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcombe

Address: 8 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcombe is ideally situated across the road from Weymouth's award-winning beach. Every room has wonderful views over Weymouth Bay to the front and the picturesque ancient harbour to the rear. The Pavilion theatre, the Marina and town centre with its many pubs and restaurants are just a short walk away. The Sandcombe is the perfect location to explore Weymouth's many attractions. Jacqui and Blane aim to make your stay so enjoyable that you will want to return to The Sandcombe time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcombe Hotel Weymouth
The Sandcombe Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing