We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely eco-guest house”
Review of Weymouth Beach B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Weymouth Beach B&B
Ranked #28 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely eco-guest house”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Very nice family run guest house on the esplanade, very near rail station and 10 mins walk to ferry port. Rooms are not very large, but adequate and everything was very clean. Very friendly welcome - we were given a cup of tea while they registered us, and our bags were taken upstairs before we knew it!.

This guest house has fantastic green policies - from eco cleaning materials, low energy use, careful water management and local sourcing of eggs, dairy, meat, Dorset Cereals muesli etc The jams and preserves at breakfast were made by a woman round the corner! Natural products in the bathroom. We were surprised then to find major multinational coffee and tea brands, rather than Fairtrade/organic certified tea and coffee from a more local Dorset based company like Clipper which would have been nice. Also no filter, only instant, coffee at breakfast.

However, this guest house has got a Gold Award for its Green policy, so is really leading the way. Coupled with the friendly people, the excellent location, it is absolutely brilliant value for money and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel93, Owner at Weymouth Beach B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us.

It's always a great boost when we find a guest who supports our efforts to run the business in a sustainable way, with local food, eco-friendly products and methods.

We're also very grateful for your suggestions with regard to sourcing both local and fairtrade tea and coffee products. In light of your suggestions we went ahead and made contact with Clipper Teas based in Beaminster down here in West Dorset and we have started using both Clipper Organic & Fairtrade tea and coffee.

A definite bonus both for us as a company and for our guests and keys in beautifully to our ethics in the way we run the business and serve our guests.

Once again thank you for your words of support and suggestions for improvement and we look forward to meeting you again in the future, and we'll make sure the kettle is on for some of this lovely Clipper tea and coffee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    60
    21
    15
    2
See reviews for
23
126
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I came to stay here with my mom and daughter for two days and had a wonderfull stay here we actualy would of loved to stay longer the owners were very polite and welcoming and treated my 3yr old daughter brilliantly offering buckets and spades for beach and making her and us feel welcome. Breakfast was lovely nothing to fault and the seaview room was lovely to we will definately be going back to stay there next year and for longer hopefully this time. Nothing to fault at all.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khloeangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel93, Manager at Weymouth Beach B&B, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely words of support, we're so happy when we hear that a guest has really enjoyed their time with us and we were able to provide great service.

We loved having you stay with us, and we're always very keen to do anything we can to make your time in Weymouth as special as possible, but it's extra special when someone tells you that their stay was a great one, that just spurs us on to do more.

We hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is such a friendly Guest House. We loved the fact that it was run by a family and that the food was all locally sourced. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the little additions such as choccy biscuits in the room and that we were given a cup of tea when we arrived, made it feel more like we were welcomed into the family than staying in a B and B. Breakfasts were exceptionally good. Can not praise them enough!
We were there over the halloween weekend so the town was packed full of revellers which did get a little irritating, but is in no way a criticism of the Guest House, just means we will pick a quieter time to visit next time. And there will be a next time definitely. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Me and my son are regular visitors to the Channel Guesthouse. It has become Home from Home. This family run business takes everything it does very seriously.
They pride themselves on good quality food using locally sourced ingredients, for the breakfasts, recycle as much as they can, and constantly look for 'Green' ways of doing things, like their new heating system which uses state of the art technology.
I highly recommend this establishment, amazing views of the bay, excellent location, 10 seconds to the beach, 3 minutes to the town, and a car parking permit supplied for good measure. Rooms are clean and tidy and very adequate for your stay. A Real Gem!
Ian and James.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this guest house at the beginning of September and from the time we arrived until we left we were greeted by the host family with friendliness and help.
The breakfasts were first class with a good choice of food. Our room was comfortable and clean, a couple of minor problems we had with the room were seen to straight away.
We fully recommend staying here.
Mo & Dave

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 km away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
0.0 km away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
242 reviews
0.3 km away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#46 of 165 in Weymouth
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 165 in Weymouth
288 reviews
0.1 km away
Wenlock House
Wenlock House
#152 of 165 in Weymouth
48 reviews
0.2 km away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#59 of 165 in Weymouth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weymouth Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weymouth Beach B&B

Property: Weymouth Beach B&B
Address: 93 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AY, England (Formerly The Channel Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price range (per night): $146 - $215
Hotel Class:3 star — Weymouth Beach B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weymouth Beach B&B is an exclusively adult only B&B sitting in the middle of Weymouth's glorious seafront overlooking the multi-award winning central beach offering panoramic views across Weymouth bay. We offer comfortable accommodation in a more homely style. Our award winning breakfast is something to look forward to with most of our ingredients carefully sourced from local farms and producers, and we offer more dishes than most, so you can have a full cooked breakfast, but also you can enjoy omelettes, American pancakes and 2 different fish dishes. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable and relaxing, and something you'd like to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Weymouth Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Weymouth Beach B&B Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing