We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place.”
other travellers have booked this property
Smallmouth Bay...moments from the front door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Smallmouth Bay...moments from the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Smallmouth Bay...moments from the front door
Lounge/Diner
Smallmouth Bay...moments from the front door
The Chesil Bank - a view from Portland
View from the Chesil Bank across Lyme Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rachelkee...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Good location by Chesil Beach and close to Rodwell Trail. Lots to to do close by. House has everything you could need, was good for husband myself and 2 children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely house in a perfect spot for exploring the area”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The house was great and had all the amenities you would wish for. The location was ideal for visiting Weymouth and Portland. Highlights of our stay were the beautiful Weymouth beach and Billy Winters restaurant. We enjoyed the Sand Sculpture centre too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daveboz00...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moonfleet is a lovely home in a great position for walks or trips out”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Moonfleet Cottage is a lovely Holiday let, we were out most days and back in for the evenings. The house had everything listed on Trip Advisor and felt very welcoming as soon as you stepped through the front door.

There are numerous walks available for people who like to get out and about, about half a mile away is Chesil Beach visitor centre which is great 'they do a lovely Ice Cream in either Cone or Tub'

Weymouth and Portland are a short Drive or walk away and we were told the Bus service is good and very frequent.

Bovington Tank Museum, Lullworth Cove, Portland Bill are just a couple of great places to visit and we treated ourselves to a ride on the Portland Harbour Ferry which was great.

That said, the Shower in the house frightened my wife when it was turned on, the noise from the pump was Horrendous and I had to sort out the the Shower head which refused to move due to lack of maintenance, a little lubrication and some brute force soon had it sorted.

I would like to have more choice of channels on the TV, most modern rentals provide SKY nowadays, these were very basic adn my Wife would have liked a Dish Washer (all personal choice of course)

Please note Towels are not supplied and you will not receive the code for the Key safe before the morning of your arrival

All in all it was a great hoilday, a lovely house to lay our heads and to top it up the weather was scorching

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mrs T G
1 review
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Sadly due to an accident shortly after arriving we didn't get to see any of the surrounding area or the local attractions - but I can highly recommend the two paramedics and all the staff at Dorchester Hospital that helped my Husband that night they all get an 11/10 from me.

Moonfleet Cottage is a small two bed house and if a comfortable home from home holiday let is what you are looking for this is perfect. We found the house straight away with no trouble - there was a little problem with the key code but Joe sorted it very quickly, if I had to find a negative I suppose it would be that the property is advertised as one of the bedrooms having TV/DVD but unless they are well hidden seem to be missing..not an issue for us though.

This is a lovely house, the living room with its pictures on the walls/ornaments and
comfy suite felt like home especially looking out onto the pretty garden, the kitchen though small has everything you would need and the bedrooms are lovely...it was worth the long drive just to sleep in those beds. A short walk to the end of the road and you can be looking out to sea...such a shame we had to return home early, I would have no hesitation in returning to Moonfleet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing