We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Turkey and Tinsel - 2 to 5 December - Tilehurst Bowling Club” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Turkey and Tinsel - 2 to 5 December - Tilehurst Bowling Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just got back from a fantastic weekend at the Crown Hotel. I was with a party on a Turkey and Tinsel Weekend and we had a really good time. The weekend started with Christmas Eve and a meeting with Wine and nibbles before a lovely meal in the Restaurant - This was not only plentiful and hot but it was also really good. During the evening we also had mince pies. The experience was followed by another great meal On Christmas Day with complimentary wine and mince pies, again on New Years eve we were greated with complimentary wine with the meal and follwed up with shortbread and mince pies later in the evening. The waiting staff were a really friendly and professional group - full marks to Mad Maureen and Nicky. The meals were without exception of a high standard - top marks to the kitchen staff for all their hard work.
I had read comments on trip advisor before going which had been a bit mixed but I could find no faults with the rooms, staff, food or the experience.
The only negative comment I would make is that the lift could do with some updating but using the stairs was not a bad thing after all the good food that had been consumed. There was some noise from the other locations but much of this is to be expected due to the central location of the Hotel.
The Crown and its staff really do know how to do Turkey and Tinsel. Well Done.
Another thing that was a big bonus for me was that even though I was on my own in our party, there had been no single supplement and I had a lovely big double room.
Thank you for an all round enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the bridge are quieter but the view is not as good. Take your pick which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pennyrobinson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    186
    61
    23
    11
See reviews for
57
163
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingskerswell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The crown just keeps getting better and better. We have been
visiting the crown for the past 6 years and every year it just seems
to be getting better. The hotel itself is currently decorated for
Christmas which only adds to the very welcoming feeling you get as
soon as you enter the front door. The private garage right under the
hotel is a big plus for us as is the flexibility of the kitchen able
to offer us early breakfast (Full English) as and when we require, so
we can get out and get fishing early. Nothing is too much trouble for
this hotel and its staff. Keep up the great work. Thank You all and see you again soon!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

My wife and I had planned to stay on our friends boat in the marina at Weymouth. However, when we got there it was a little rough and we didn't fancy it. The first hotel next to the marina is the crown, we booked in for bed and breakfast at very reasonable rates and had a very relaxing couple of days. The hotel was clean and warm with a very nice public bar that has a good lunchtime menu. Breakfast was sever until 9.30am and was a good traditional English breakfast. 10/10 for the crown.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just returned from a week of Turkey & Tinsel at the Crown. It's the first time we have been on such a trip and it won't be the last!

We had a fantastic time, the hotel is very central so has great access to the shops , seafront and harbourside which was great for my wife who has mobility problems.

The crown is a 2 star (thought it should be a 3 star at least) everything about our stay was great, the food, the entertainment and the staff were all fantastic. The only slight problem was the odd noise from the street, however this didn't go on beyond 11 O'Clock and after all it is a town centre hotel.

WE WILL BE RETURNING!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WILSON123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

the only way i can discribe the crown hotel is care home .our room was ok cleanish comfortable.the food was appauling boil in the bag meat gravy like water .potatos under cooked . frozen and tasteless vegatables. meals on wheels food .breakfast no mushrooms . just didnt ever smell cookin coming from the kitchen.my husband only had 1 meal all week .we got there on monday by tuesday night i was up all night sick and had a bad stomach the rest of the week.we had most off our food at m&s. that was great by the way .some of the staff were a little deaf .but a few were ok.we were right opposite the dirt night club .a bus stop and very noisy sea gulls every morning then we got the dust bin waggon and three road sweepers all before 6am the noise from other residents is also very bad.

Room Tip: find another hotel if you want a good meal and a decent nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#4 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
5.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
4.1 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
12.1 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 51-53 St. Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price range (per night): $87 - $135
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charm and character of the Crown Hotel lies in the warm and friendly atmosphere which always prevails. The management takes a special interest in making sure your stay is a total success, whether it be for business or pleasure.The hotel is located in an extremely favourable position at the top of Weymouth’s town centre, next to the Town Bridge overlooking the historic fishing harbour, and just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque Brewer’s Quay. Weymouth’s beautiful sandy beach and the ferry service to the Channel Islands are less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel.Hotel facilities include a first floor residents’ lounge, The Vaults Bar and Restaurant and a residents' bar. There is also a passenger lift which serves all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing