We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sand castles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandworld Sculpture Park

Sandworld Sculpture Park
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Weymouth Sand Sculpture Festival aka Sandworld is a seasonal attraction set within Lodmoor Country Park, Weymouth - next door to the SeaLife Centre, and next to a large car and coach park. Sandworld is an all weather attraction created by local artists to showcase the talents of International and UK Sand Sculptors undercover in a huge marquee. There is a large covered sand pit. Visitors are encouraged to "have a go" at sandsculpting having been inspired by what they have seen. It is sometimes possible to engage with artists as they work on new pieces which are added to the site from time to time, and always possible to relax with a drink, snack or icecream at the on site cafe. Activities such as filling sand bottles are available at extra cost, and a gift shop completes the experience where you can buy a postcard of your favourite sculpture or a souvenier of your visit. The attraction has a link to Weymouths long tradition of Sand Sculpting, as Mark Anderson - co-founder of Sandworld - is the grandson of Fred Darrington, who began sculpting on Weymouth beach back in the 1920's. Mark is an International Master in his own right, and can often be found in the sandpit at Sandworld helping aspiring sculptors - young and old - to engage in this most therapeutic of activities. Length of visit times varies widely depending on the individual or groups' level of interest and/or engagement with the art, and of course the weather (although most of the exhibits are undercover, a visit in November will not be the same as a visit in August). Some visitors stay 10 minutes, some stay all day, either way is cool. All are welcome at Sandworld - please come and see us! Open between Easter and Halloween
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sand castles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Could not believe the exhibits. So many works of art. Detailed to the nth degree. Who knows how long they took to construct.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sidney_fleckney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandworld, Owner at Sandworld Sculpture Park, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
First review of the 2012 season, thankyou Sidney, we are glad you enjoyed yourself at Sandworld and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    183
    74
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NrLondon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Sandworld certainly surprises! It turned out to be the highlight of our day.
We didn't know what to expect when we visited but were amazed by the sheer size, skill and complexity of these marvellous sand sculptures. They are truly breathtaking. We were all enthralled by the display. As well as this main attraction, there was a well stocked cafe and project area for the kids. Our two, aged 10 and 6, really enjoyed building and making their own models in the sandpit while we sat and enjoyed a welcome cup of lovely coffee. We spent a lot longer in Sandworld than we expected to. It was a big hit with all the family.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gbmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

expensive for what your getting, it has left the sand sculpture on the beach looking tired which is a shame.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kelstongh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandworld, Owner at Sandworld Sculpture Park, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thankyou for your review. We try to keep the cost as reasonable as possible but face the same business costs and taxes as everyone. We think that £6.50 for an adult to see the work of the best sand sculptors in the world on your doorstep is good value - less than the cost of a cinema ticket. New for 2012 we are introducing excellent value season tickets and family passes, and will be running promotional offers in selected publications. Work is underway on site to create new sculptures for 2012 on an Ancient Greek and Olympic theme. Also this year, we are remodelling the sculptures during the season so that there will always be something new to see. We hope to see you at Sandworld again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

A ' must see' attraction. Great value for money. I have seen the sand sculptures in Weymouth evolve over the last 50yrs, this is a new level.

Helpful?
Thank TGM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How do they do it?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Absolutely fantastic and spectacular. Giant-sized sculptures under one roof. Entertaining for adults and great fun for the kids to with the chance to buld real sandcastles. Well worth a visit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kbeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandworld Sculpture Park also viewed

 

Been to Sandworld Sculpture Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing