We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B with stunning views, high standard”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beach House
Ranked #16 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Beach House is situated directly to the sea on the esplanade, our single rooms has stunning views at the English Channel.
We stayed 5 nights in two single rooms, which shares one bathroom. All rooms are spotless clean, nice furnished, equipped with basin, tea and coffee making facilities, freeview telly and free wifi. Joy and Laura are very kind and helpful, the breakfast has rich variety and was very tasty.
We loved our hole stay at the Beach House, there's nothing to criticise.
There's no own car park, but you'll find a space in a short walking distance, in low season it was easy to find a space next to the entrance.
The Beach House is a great start for exploring Weymouth, the Isle of Portland and the hole Jurassic Coast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m83fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

Like any pretty seaside town the best view is looking at it, so why stay in the middle of it?
The Beach House is set on the East end of the esplanade on the end of the line of hotels.
This gives it the perfect view down the beach to the town ( unlike the others in the row which just face out ), It's just a 10 min pleasant stroll, while being far enough away to keep it quiet.

Weymouth is an old town designed for tourists coming by train, it never will have the parking for everyone to come by car, but the hotel also benefits from a quirk of the rules which means parking in the bays in the triangle is allowed which the signs wouldn't suggest.
We stayed on the bank holiday weekend and had no trouble, however you will need to be able to parallel park ;)

To the hotel it's self.
It's very clean and well presented, as soon as you get there you know you picked the right one. The staff are genuinely warm, welcoming and have great knowledge of the area.

The stairs, don't get the problem myself, it's an old building, their fine, yes the very top ones are a little tight on the turn, but if you have no trouble walking it's fine, just don't let the misses do the packing.
The room is very well finished and clean, the view from our room ( 7 ) was superb.
Comfortable bed, all electrics required, modern bathroom. The windows are single pane sash type, but as a very light sleeper noise never bothered me once.
Just outside is the beach, really!, it's the width of a very quiet road away, what more do you want?!

Then in the morning there's breakfast, you couldn't want for anything better cooked, it's all perfect, the bacon, never had it so good and i considered myself a bacon ace!
as said on the other review even the butters the perfect temp.
But you can mix and match anything you want if you want.

All this and it's one of the keenest priced too!

The Beach House really did add to just how good our weekend in Weymouth was, and is THE perfect base.

Room Tip: Room 7 for the best view if your not unrealistic about stairs in old buildings, it really is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CornishCactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We booked at the Beach House having read the positive reviews on this and other hotel and guest house sites, and we were not disappointed.

Our room, which was facing the sea front, was immaculately clean and remarkably quiet, and the expensive looking velvet blackout curtains made for a good nights sleep.

The proprietors were very welcoming, extremely knowledgeable of the local area and its attractions and provided extremely well cooked and varied breakfasts suitable for all tastes.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
13  Thank bakedbeantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Our break at the beachhouse was for 3 nites,Joy and Laura,were very nice people,who looked after use very well. Our room,which was room no 3,was perfecf.Great sea veiw,and very well presented,bed really nice,big bathroom,and room made up every morn.Breakfast was fab,would go back again,and once again it was lovely to meet Joy and Laura.Thank you both for making are break so nice,as this is what the doctor had ordered for me .I'm glad Elaine my parntner enjoyed her break too. We will certainly be going back and high;y recommend it!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanrr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We arrived with nothing booked and wanted to be out of town but in walking distance of everything and with a sea view.1st door tried was booked up so then tried The Beach House. Greeted by very friendly host who explained that there was a room free but had shower problem over the weekend. We were showed room which was spotlessly clean and overlooked prom and beach! and we were offered room at reduced rate. Our host also found us a parking space close to B & B which was most acceptable as the rain had decided to arrive with us.
Breakfast was very acceptable - various choice and perfectly presented. And the shower
behaved itself! Would recommend to family and friends but would make them aware of steep stairs which were also quite narrow.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank breakawayFaringdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 km away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#31 of 166 in Weymouth
157 reviews
0.2 km away
Crofton Guest House
Crofton Guest House
#26 of 166 in Weymouth
179 reviews
0 km away
The Seaham Weymouth
The Seaham Weymouth
#20 of 166 in Weymouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Stanley Guest House
The Stanley Guest House
#24 of 166 in Weymouth
109 reviews
0.3 km away
Ashmira Guest House
Ashmira Guest House
#28 of 166 in Weymouth
362 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grange Bed & Breakfast
The Grange Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 166 in Weymouth
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 1 & 2 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $77 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing