We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful,comfortable and friendly”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jasmine Cottage .

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Electric reclining chairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appleby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GrumpyGru...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having visited several cottages over a number of years we have always been impressed by the reviews of other guests and the description of the property concerned.

Upon arrival we were impressed with the quaint look and the character of this 100year old + cottage. The garden looked just as advertised and it certainly had charm inside as well as being well kitted out with plenty of little essentials and extras - extra tv's in bedrooms, gadgets and utensils a plenty in the kitchen.

An important factor for choosing was the enclosed garden to enable our cocker spaniel to roam around as she pleased.

The bathroom was a big, big let down. It was dirty!!. There was mildew around the window. There was dirty grout and a lot missing from around the sink. The grouting down the wall side of the bath was disgusting. There was part of the bath panel missing. The floor was dirty. There is charm and character and there is dirt. It was obvious that this had not just appeared overnight and it had been some time since a good deep clean. - The owners may disagree but it was there as clear as day to see and the photographs we took show it in all its glory.

The handrail on the side of the stairs was loose at the top fastening - just a minor point but still you don't want to be holding on to that too tightly when descending the stairs especially in the middle of the night.

The garden though looking very tranquil and an ideal place to sit out and relax is anything but. The large boundary wall actually is next to the main road in and out of Appleby, which became an issue with road noise especially when the Bank Holiday finished and the large articulated lorries resumed as well as the local commuters. Quiet and peaceful - certainly not.

Having read the previous reviews and the guest book about this property I cannot believe we are talking about the same cottage!!!!

I know these places have to be cleaned ready for the next guests but there is a vast difference between just giving a place a wipe and sweep and actually doing some serious cleaning.

You will not be surprised to hear that we cut short our 1 week break and returned home 3 days early. That will now give the owners time to do a deep clean prior to the next guests(which of course will be at our expense as any partial refund has been refused - no surprise there really!!!!)

Needless to say we will NOT be returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds were comfortable
Liked least: The Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful,comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Jasmine Cottage for just under a week, we had a lovely stay,the cottage was very clean and comfortable and very well equipped. The owners were very friendly and welcomed us with a lovely cake(thank you)the locals were very friendly and chatty, lovely walks and a great pub along the road called the Royal Oak,lovely food and dog friendly(even had a doggy menu). We will certainly come back to Appleby again and certainly stay again at jasmine cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely comfortable beds and the friendly people
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful and relaxing.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful cottage; very well equipped and maintained. Everything you could need for a relaxing and peaceful holiday. Well situated for walks or casual strolls. Plus the advantage of owners close by. Shops, Public House serving meals, and Churches within easy access.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calm, peaceful atmoshpere and beautiful surroundings, plus the friendly helpful owners and the fact that my dog was also made very welcome.
Liked least: That I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa1804
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Both I and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful, well equipped cottage. Stephen and Vivien where happy to help with anything needed. Great location and a nice surprise to have a cake waiting for us on our arrival. We will be returning in the new year. THANKYOU

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, ideal base.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Jasmine Cottage is very comfortable and an ideal base to explore the Lake District and North Pennines.Beds were extremely comfortable,so much so we had problems getting one of our teenage boys out of it!
Lovely enclosed garden which our Springerdoodle loved.
Little extras upon arrival such as milk in the fridge and a cake, made you feel very welcome.
Mr and Mrs Campbell are very friendly and informative of area.
We enjoyed it that much, we have booked again for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped and comfortable.
Liked least: No socket in utility room.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing