We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious well presented home away from home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Owl Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LynneT_10
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious well presented home away from home.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our first experience of staying in a holiday rental. We were delightfully surprised. Little Owl Lodge was a good size, very well presented, clean and very comfortable. The welcome pack was a very nice touch of which we made full use.
The owners were very welcoming but not intrusive and invited us to feed the alpacas if we wanted to. Of course we did. We enjoyed seeing the animals out the windows and were disappointed if we didn't see any rabbits each day.
The only thing which isn't a negative, was the distance Little Owl Lodge was from the places we wanted to visit. You definitely need a car. Patrick provided us with very detailed instructions on how to find Little Owl Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice P
1 review
“Beautiful county wonderful accommodation”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really enjoyed our stay - warm, comfortable and friendly with all we needed and more. We spent three nights here enjoying nostalgic visits to Barnard Castle and stunning views at High and Low force.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr Simon...
1 review
“We enjoyed our stay in this roomy and comfortable lodge”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Good facilities as per the web site and a pleasant welcome from the owners. Location is rural and very quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Potholes on the entrance track and zero mobile phone reception
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This is our 5th year coming for Christmas. The cottage and location is perfect. The owner's are friendly and nothing is any trouble. I enjoy feeding the alpacas with my husband each year too. It is like home from home. Cosy and comfy. The spa bath is great and the sauna is another treat to relax. Would definitely recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roppyo
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent well-maintained lodge in a lovely setting, ideal for family stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked this lodge as one of our family party has mobility problems. It was absolutely perfect - exceptionally clean and well equipped, easy access (seated shower, rails etc) and good facilities for those with mobility issues but also perfect outdoor space for the children to run around in (and meet the friendly horses). The owners were extremely helpful both prior to and during the stay and we appreciated the provisions left for us on arrival.
We definitely hope to return soon. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean and well equipped
Liked least: nothing, all great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing