We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a lovely little cottage. Very friendly and...”
other travellers have booked this property
The story of Swallows Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Dedicated parking right outside your door,
Warm and cosy, the log burner in Swallows Nest is just the thing.
Cosy ambiance
Two of our gorgeous horses. Come and give them a lovely groom
Farm machinery at its very best. Boys and their toys eh?
Our farm is a full working livestock business where we believe in happy animals
You simply cannot beat our glorious Teesdale countryside. This is of our own farmland.
Horses grazing happily in our fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne602
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely little cottage. Very friendly and welcoming.”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, daughter (13) and son (8) stayed for a couple of days at Swallows Nest just for a quiet break away. We enjoyed it so much we are definitely going back. Alison and Keith are so friendly and Keith even let the kids go on the quad and drive the tractor! There are lovely walks just on the doorstep so our dog was in her element, but the surrounding area is also beautiful, I never knew there was so much to do in that part of the country!
Definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Swallows Nest. We were glad that we were on hand to be able to spend some time with you and your lovely family. A short visit for you but we are already looking forward to a time when we can welcome you once again, hopefully for a little longer next time. Many thanks again for taking the time to review our lovely cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Would have been great to have a second bath too
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Swallows Nest. We are really glad that you enjoyed your return visit to us and look forward to seeing you again for a third time. A summer stay would be great as you will get to see our ever changing countryside in a different season. You'll be surprised at how different each time of year can be and I look forward to being able to tell you where all of the best places are that you haven't had a chance to go to yet. Many thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
highlande...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“cosy and comfy”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Very comfy and warm cottage, clean and well equipped, owners friendly and helpful, even the dogs who visited, liked the chickens and horse. Weather could have been better but it was November, but still enjoyed our stay. One small thing, a bright reading lamp would be useful in lounge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, and comfort
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it was really nice to hear that you thought Swallows Nest was comfy, warm and well equipped. We always welcome feedback and will actively find a more suitable lamp for when you visit us next. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadine F
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had the most amazing stay with Alison and her family. The cottage is so comfy and warm, the animals are an added bonus, the chickens were wonderful, feeding them was a great experience. Sally and Maggie the Jack Russell's made us feel very welcome on arrival and even Glen the farm dog came to say hello. The facilities were perfect for my mum and I would highly recommend a stay. Cannot wait to come back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are really glad that you all enjoyed your stay in our cottage and especially that your mum was able to reminisce and have a little walk down memory lane. Like you , we look forward to your return visit. Thanks again and see you in 2016!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgroun...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SWALLOWS NEST IS A FANTASTIC PLACE TO STAY - FRIENDLY HOSTS!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

From our initial enquiry, through speaking to the owner, Alison, she answered our every question and query without hesitation. Needless to say we decided to book Swallows Nest for a week’s break, and what a lovely cottage it is, pictures are so deceiving, really spacious, cosy, and simply a home-from-home. On arrival we were greeted by Alison, who showed us round the cottage, and made us feel very welcome. The cottage was lovely, and of course Alison’s dogs Sally (mum dog), and Maggie (Puppy), who greeted us as well and Glen the sheepdog was lovely too. Outlook stunning, nice to see all the Free Range Hens, loads of wild rabbits and horses in the fields. We enjoyed the cottage and exploring the area so much that we have booked to return next year, not just once, but twice. I would advise if you are thinking of going, book early as this is such a gem, no wonder it gets booked for the year ahead very quickly indeed. Alison was on hand to give advice for days out to suit all needs and there is plenty of literature and leaflets in the cottage for days out. Finally, thanks to Alison and Keith (and dogs) for a great stay, we will see you next year. Sorry for the late review, and we have added a few photos of our stay. Craig & Linda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location & Greeting From Alison
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you so very much for your positive review of Swallows' Nest. We are glad that you both had such a fabulous time that you have decided to book not one but two weeks with us next year. We look forward to seeing you both and welcoming you once again to our lovely farm. Sally and Maggie say hi too and thank you for their gifts. The toy is miraculously still in one piece!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing