We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
The story of Swallows Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The story of Swallows Nest
A trio of hens catching the sun. Free range eggs are plenty during spring and summer
Dedicated parking right outside your door,
Warm and cosy, the log burner in Swallows Nest is just the thing.
Cosy ambiance
Two of our gorgeous horses. Come and give them a lovely groom
Farm machinery at its very best. Boys and their toys eh?
Our farm is a full working livestock business where we believe in happy animals
You simply cannot beat our glorious Teesdale countryside. This is of our own farmland.
Horses grazing happily in our fields
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
whitedog4...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

On arrival were immediately at ease when meeting Alison the owner of this beautiful cottage. The farm and the area are stunning not to mention the nearby shopping choices in both Bishop Auckland and Barnard Castle. There are great takeaways and supermarkets within driving distance which are all outlined in the great guide provided. Everything is there for your every requirement I as a wheelchair user found things taken into consideration which is rare in holiday lets especially those allowing dogs as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and friendly place.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Swallows Nest Cottage. We do try very hard to ensure that all of our guests have a super stay (even our 4 legged ones!). I am glad that you found the information on the cottage and local services useful as we feel it's an important part of any stay. We are all very much looking forward to your next visit-Thanks again, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaurG2014
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Swallows Nest myself my sister Susan and my dad, John and his dog McEwan and want a brilliant time we all had. My dad has a mobility scooter to be honest
we had a exhaustive list of requirements which we discussed with the owner Alison before booking, but nothing was a problem Alison couldn't have been more helpful all the equipment
and the personal touches made the holiday perfect. An ideal tranquil place, and privacy but Alison was on hand and did check if we needed anything.A must for anyone who has disabilities, master bedroom on one level, walk-in shower and an en-suite with a bath in the twin-bedded room, We would not hesitate to make a further booking, My dad wanted to stay on another week but with commitments we couldn't but we have recharged our batteries and
Have proved whatever your disabilities you can still live life to the full. Thank you to Alison and Keith for helping make this possible.
Love Maureen, Susan and John xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. I'm glad I was able to put your mind at rest before you came here so that you could start looking forward to your holiday. Nothing is ever too much trouble to help aid that process and I understand perfectly. Now that you know we're here and what we offer you can look forward even more to your next stay and we will be delighted to see you all back on the farm in the future. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themouseh...
Kyogle
Level 5 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at Low Lands Farm for a far too short 5 days in May. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome by Alison and Sally and this set the tone for the rest of our stay. The cottage is so cosy and well equipped with everything you could want. The lego is an inspired touch and bought the adults some sleep-in time in the mornings! Not that you want to sleep in when there are eggs to collect, lambs to feed, horses to fuss over and Glen the sheep dog ever ready for a game of football. The cottage is exactly as it is described and it was nice to find a farm stay that delivered on its promise of being a working farm. There is plenty to see and do in the area - if you can drag the kids away. The extra touches like the binoculars, blankets and books set this place apart. If we are lucky enough to return to the UK we would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your glowing review of Swallows Nest. We try very hard to make each guest's stay here on the farm as personal and individual as we can and we are thrilled to know that we have achieved this. We agree that your stay here was too short this time as we too would have liked more time to get to know you all better, maybe next time? Thank you once again and good luck to you and your lovely family in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronnie o
Birkenshaw, United Kingdom
1 review
“12 consecutive visits says it all”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An excellent & comfortable cottage in a lovely country farm location. Comfortable and well fitted for both disabled and able bodied people. Hosts Alison and Keith are most helpful and hospitable, nothing is too much trouble.
We've just completed our 12th annual visit which speaks for itself as a recommendation.
Ronnie and Ruth

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are delighted to have you back to stay in Swallows Nest each year and to be honest our summers wouldn't be the same without you and your lovely family. Many thanks again and see you next year, we're counting down the days!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeyg24
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing find”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have had an amazing week. The farm is a beautiful place to stay..a chance for us and our three children to relax and enjoy the countryside. A joy each day to see our three collect their own eggs for breakfast each morning watch the rabbits and horses in the fields behind and to see the stars at night. As townies something we rarely see due to all the street lighting. Reminds us of the things we regularly saw as children.Alison and Keith are such lovely hosts and the cottage had all we could need including lego xxx we hope will be able to stay again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. Keith and I truly enjoy welcoming our guests and showing them around our friendly, working farm. We are looking forward to your return visit as much as you are. Thanks again for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing