We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle
River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Family en-suite with 1 double bed & 1 single bed.
Twin room
Original 17th century carved stone staircase
Living Room
Kitchen from Dinning room
Dinning room from Kitchen
Large Garden with Views of open countryside & woodland
Garden BBQ area
Canoeing at Low Force Waterfall
Meg playing in snow 2010
Farm 2010 winter
Eggleston Hall gardens
Livery at Raygill
Raygill wins best of Barnard Castle Meet 2014
Sounds in the grounds annual festival
Weekly local pub bands
Hen parties welcome
Vintage rally WWII, Steam train from Bishop Auckland to Stanhope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nellysLiv...
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay in this cottage, 5 families wanting a catch up/ weekend break. Kids loved the surrounding farm land & open fields. Cottage had all the facilities needed, owner is also trying to update some facilities. Lovely walks in surrounding area. Very enjoyable weekend, looking to book another weekend stay next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Thanks, sorry I did not respond earlier as the app was playing up.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully see you return

Peter:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skihols46
north east england
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Turned up to find that the actual accommodation is not the one shown in the picture. It's actually behind the large tree on the left!!! So you find your way through a slimy stable yard to a little wall that has to climbed over to the back door. The door which is rotten on the bottom and has a hole in it.
The place itself is warm with clean bedding, new toilets, wash basins and shower in ensuite but it's work in progress and not finished!! Downstairs communal showers very1950,s. most of the tired crockery in the kitchen needs replacing..IKEA have some bargains. Sofas in living room are not good but new tele and snooker table a big hit.
There is no hanging space in the long bedroom just small bedside tables and only a coat stand in living for all outdoor clothing our many muddy shoes we put on newspaper at the door in living room, no where else to go!
We paid £750 for 3 nights over Easter and asked the owner that in view of the fact it wasn't as described could we have some refund and at no point did I say I would give a bad review if he didnt. I notice he said that about someone else that complained. No refund!!
I

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Countryside around
Liked least: Deceived by photos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
HI
I as expressed to you in previous emails am extremely disappointed that your stay with us was not as good as many other groups have found. You are correct that the photo labelled Raygill Farm house with attached holiday cottage is of both our farmhouse and attached holiday cottage, the photo is an overall shot of both properties. I don't understand what you mean by slimy stable yard? and think as in most of your points are unfounded or exaggerated. The main access in to the building is over a stone sty on to patio area and is the main reason why in our advertising we say not suitable for disabled or persons with restricted ability, we would like to in the future add a gate to the wall but as most groups do not find this an issue and even quirky, then so far its not been a pressing issue. The door on patio is fine apart from a small hole at the bottom requiring a repair, not really a major issue? Thank you for pointing out how much work has already been done upgrading the property, with new bathroom & toilet suites, yes there is always more stuff to be done and we are always improving things. Downstairs showers 1950's? the downstairs showers were given a new finish, 5 years ago so not sure what you mean? The crockery in kitchen is perfectly good and nothing the wrong with it and in 4 years no ones mentioned it?
The sofa could do with with a repair to rip in arm and zip broken but otherwise ok. Thank you for pointing out the recent new large flatscreen HD tv to living room and full size pool table. We have not found any issue with storage upstairs before. I don't understand what the issue is with shoes and boots at the door, there is a mat and coat hanger at the door. The price paid for that weekend for your group size was a lot higher than a normal weekend price because it was a 4 day bank holiday weekend, which is probably one of the reasons that you felt it was overpriced, as we are a budget accommodation for large groups that is warm clean and tidy with all services and utilities included in the heart of the Teesdale countryside with a short distance in to the historic market town of Barnard Castle i think you are unfairly comparing us the luxury accommodation ie. the local youth hostel is £22 pppn, we charge normally £16pppn

You didnt say you would in your email give me a bad review on trip advisor, however you did make reference to trip adviser right before you went on to ask for a refund which to me is the same thing and probably why you felt the need to bring that up in the first case. The reason why i didnt give you a refund is because the dates you had was a fair price and you were made aware at the time of booking that you were paying the full price based on the maximum of 20 persons even though your group size was approx half that because of the bank holiday weekend. Everyone of your complaints was either untrue, exaggerated or a matter of taste none of which could be described as an issue which had a major effect on your stay which justified some form of refund.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather14...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, comfortable and well equiped”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here as a group while kayaking the River Tees in February. The accommodation was good value, warm and well equipped. The kitchen particularly was well equipped with plenty of fridge and freezer space, a microwave, a water filter and a coffee machine. The only thing which we would have liked was a proper drying room for our gear but we managed. The accommodation was beautifully warm. The snooker table was a great hit and the multiple sofas very comfy.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Hi Heather
Thanks for the good review, just a note on drying facilities with particular significance to future or returning canoe clubs, the large heated vented shower rooms can be used as drying rooms for wet gear, hanging items on rails we can also provide a de-humidifier on request but would not think is required.

Thanks and hope to see you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn S
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with a large group of friends for a friends 30th birthday beginning of February. Raygill was ideal for our needs comfortably furnished an ideal sized kitchen and diner. All rooms were clean and comfortable and extremely warm (the weather was wild outside gales and snow) we didn't venture far just generally lounged around eating and drinking. The scenery in this area is beautiful and Barnard castle is a lovely place. This is a working farm so expect the noises and smells that goes with it (we actually found this quite funny) and stables on the doorstep with some beautiful horses to admire. All in all we had a great time at Raygill and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thanks Dawn, really nice review and it was a pleasure having you all stay.

Regards

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheron H
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Rural Location - great for family groups”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break with friends. The house was plenty large enough for our party of 10 - 3 couples and 4 children (ages 11 to 15), and it was clean and very warm.
The location of the house is wonderful, particularly if you like horses as there is a working stable directly outside. Also, it snowed heavily whilst we were there and we had to walk for supplies to Barnard Castle - the walk was stunning, through fields and wood.
The only negatives to the stay would be that there was a bit of a whiff in the corridor downstairs, but probably to be expected as it is a working farm, and also the lack of a white ball for the pool table. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would certainly return.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Hi
Thanks for your kind comments and we enjoyed having you stay.
Sorry to hear you were missing a pool ball, I did notice this too, but found it came out of table when next played, must have stuck, I've since changed the balls for a better set and I am ordering better larger cues to enhance the playability.

Thanks and hope to see you again

Peter:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing