We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant accomodation for large groups!”
other travellers have booked this property
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Raygill Farm house and private garden with attached Stables guest cottage and separate garden.
Barnard Castle
River Tees, where Raygill wood meets the river
Family en-suite with 1 double bed & 1 single bed.
Twin room
Original 17th century carved stone staircase
Living Room
Kitchen from Dinning room
Dinning room from Kitchen
Large Garden with Views of open countryside & woodland
Garden BBQ area
Canoeing at Low Force Waterfall
Meg playing in snow 2010
Farm 2010 winter
Eggleston Hall gardens
Livery at Raygill
Raygill wins best of Barnard Castle Meet 2014
Sounds in the grounds annual festival
Weekly local pub bands
Hen parties welcome
Vintage rally WWII, Steam train from Bishop Auckland to Stanhope
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Barnard Castle, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Am5189
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant accomodation for large groups!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Raygill last weekend for my dad's 50th birthday. There were 20 people in our group ranging from 8 years old to 50 year old. Everyone had an absolutely brilliant time. The bedrooms were lovely and the house suited us just fine. Excellent value for money for what we paid. The only complaint I would have would be that when we arrived we parked on the courtyard directly outside of the cottage and weren't told we could not park here. Later that night, we were asked to move our cars to the carpark. It was pitch black and we did not know were to park. We moved them to where we had been told but the following day we were asked to move them again as they needed to move horses. I understand it is a working farm but clear parking on arrival would make things a lot more enjoyable! Thanks for a brilliant weekend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms! And the space
Liked least: The issue with our parking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Hi Julie
Thanks for your review and we are very happy your group had a brilliant time. In response to the car parking issue raised I did meet the first party to arrive and showed them where to park the cars, I think the message might not have been passed on. We decided to let all cars park in the courtyard as it was torrential rain that evening and did not want your group to get wet, normally we would have some cars in the overspill parking. We are just completing a very large guest car park which will alleviate any future problems.

Thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again.


Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doreen G
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“A successful family holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Raygill is a working farm and a work in progress but it met the needs of our extended family of 12 adults and 10 children. We enjoyed having space to play and to eat meals together. The owner was attentive and helpful making sure we were warm enough when the august weather turned cool.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Did not have preferred dates available
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
Thanks we hope to see you again soon.

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DazDarlin...
Darlington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Response to "dissaponting stay - miss sold holiday" review”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We visited RayGill in April for a long weekend with extended family.
Regarding the previous review I would agree that what is advertised is not strictly what is on offer. The photos are of the farmhouse next door and not the rented accommodation. We had the same trouble with the downstairs toilet and it had nothing to do with too much toilet paper being flushed at one time, it just did not want to flush anything. The upstairs toilet takes an age to fill up after being flushed and is quite noisy. The downstairs showers are dated and were a bit grubby. However we did not complain at the time as overall we enjoyed our stay. We were told that a new kitchen would be installed in the near future, this could do with being suitable for larger groups ie better cooker, toaster etc. A bit more private outside space close to the lounge would be nice as well instead of people saddling up and feeding horses at all times of the day.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Hi Adrian
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and despite a few negative comments found Raygill extremely good value for money. The previous cover Photo was an overall shot of both Raygill farm House and holiday accommodation. The outdoor space is a Patio area directly outside with stables & large courtyard with Adjoining guest 200m2+ garden/BBQ area overlooking beautiful open countryside. I am not sure what you mean by the kitchen requires a new oven? The oven is a large double oven & grill purchased last year. The Toaster was replaced this year I think after your group visited. The Kitchen in general, is large clean and fit for purpose, well stocked with almost everything you would expect to find at home to cater for 20 persons. The toilets are dated, which is why we have purchased new suites thoughout, to be installed September/October.

We are a budget large group accommodation which offers a clean comfortable & affordable accommodation in stunning countryside with only a short walk to Barnard Castle, I would hope that your review rating was adjusted to reflect the price you paid.

Kind regards,


Peter Wall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thank you Cecilia for your good review,
It was very nice to meet your group and we look forward to having you stay with us again. The toilets are quite dated and we have recently purchased new suites from Victoria plumb, ready to be installed after the fully booked August Holidays in Sept/October in line with our complete planned 2014 refurb'. Please keep up to date with our progress by joining our page on Facebook "Raygill".

Many thanks,

Peter Wall
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing