We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
175
177
64
32
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
177
64
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wreckers bar crashing waves stunning location rugged coast bay window the cliff fish and chips old fashioned coastal walk comfortable room lasagna well worth a visit stayed here for one night living room fantastic views full english
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

When ordering online, you need to call and specify the details of accommodation in the hotel. We wrote in an online order that we wanted a room overlooking the sea. This did not help us to avoid some problems with our check-in at the hotel.

Room tip: When ordering online, you need to call and specify the details of accommodation in the hotel.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Elena W,
Many thanks for your review. We do have sea-view rooms available to book through our website and directly over the phone however as you booked through a 3rd party website, sea view requests cannot always be guaranteed I'm afraid.

I hope that you did enjoy your stay with us and if we can assist with future bookings, please let us know at info@hartlandquayhotel.co.uk.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

With spectacular views and walks in the surrounding area, we were pleased we stayed there for the night. We arrived a couple of hours earlier than the check in time, but were given the room as it was ready for us. Much appreciated as this allowed us to leave the bags in the room instead of in our car or in the reception area. Our room was lovely, especially loved the size of the room and the big bath tub. We had a little view of the sea, but lovely to sleep with the sound of the waves. Cannot complain about the food. Reasonably priced and with good portions. The staff were friendly. All in all, a great over night stay.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear ZC
Many thanks for your review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and do please let us know if we can assist with any future enquiries.

Kind regards
Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Hartland Quay Hotel while on our travels.

I would class the hotel as quirky but defiantly not in a bad sense of the word. The character that it holds is something that made our stay more memorable.

Our room was very large and the facilities were very good and overall very clean.

The restaurant offers a great selection of meals and found the Lasagne and the fish and chips to be of good quality. I found the same with the breakfast.

The bar experience was very good, with a traditional pub feel and well kept beer.

Main highlight as you can imagine is the location! The cliff faces, beach and the Atlantic Ocean presents you with an unforgettable experience.

In conclusion: traditional hotel with great character, good quality food & beer. Great room facilities, the friendliest staff and a location that's hard to better.

Tip: sit outside on the benches with a drink and soak in all that Hartland Quay has to offer!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 04cscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Thought we would have lunch out at this pub as when we have been before it had been busy.
Firstly on walking in we were greeted by a sour faced very unfriendly barman with glasses on prob mid 30s baulding.
No smile said what do i want so ordered our drinks and sandwiches with chips they were huge he could have said 1 would be enough for 2.
He asked what table number we said outside so partner went to get a number when a women walked in he said to her your waiting as she dodnt get a table number sternly.
How rude this man is as we work in hosptality he needs to be put on a customer service course!!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 780jjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Jj B

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience - the staff member in question is well liked by all our staff and guests and has never been spoken of as rude before and certainly no offence was intended.
We do always like to address these kinds of issues in private rather than in a public domain as personal comments can be upsetting to the individual involved. The manager on duty on the day would have been happy to listen to your concerns.
That said, all feedback is very much appreciated and will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hartland Quay is one of the those magical places that everyone should visit once in a lifetime. The marriage of rough seas coming in from the Atlantic crashing onto Devon cliffs is heart stopping. To crown it all, it is blessed with the Hartland Quay Hotel. This is an extremely welcoming and friendly hotel, with staff that are second to none. The food is excellent and prices affordable for all.In fact I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where we were made more welcome and looked after so well. Age will prevent a further visit, but the memory will stay with us for ever.

Room tip: If you have any physical disabilities, ask before you book
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Neil581

Thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us.

Take care and all the best for the future.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews