We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
170
175
64
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
175
64
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wreckers bar stunning location crashing waves rugged coast bay window the cliff fish and chips coastal walk old fashioned comfortable room lasagna stayed here for one night fantastic views cooked breakfast sunday lunch lundy island
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Thought we would have lunch out at this pub as when we have been before it had been busy.
Firstly on walking in we were greeted by a sour faced very unfriendly barman with glasses on prob mid 30s baulding.
No smile said what do i want so ordered our drinks and sandwiches with chips they were huge he could have said 1 would be enough for 2.
He asked what table number we said outside so partner went to get a number when a women walked in he said to her your waiting as she dodnt get a table number sternly.
How rude this man is as we work in hosptality he needs to be put on a customer service course!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Jj B

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience - the staff member in question is well liked by all our staff and guests and has never been spoken of as rude before and certainly no offence was intended.
We do always like to address these kinds of issues in private rather than in a public domain as personal comments can be upsetting to the individual involved. The manager on duty on the day would have been happy to listen to your concerns.
That said, all feedback is very much appreciated and will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hartland Quay is one of the those magical places that everyone should visit once in a lifetime. The marriage of rough seas coming in from the Atlantic crashing onto Devon cliffs is heart stopping. To crown it all, it is blessed with the Hartland Quay Hotel. This is an extremely welcoming and friendly hotel, with staff that are second to none. The food is excellent and prices affordable for all.In fact I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where we were made more welcome and looked after so well. Age will prevent a further visit, but the memory will stay with us for ever.

Room Tip: If you have any physical disabilities, ask before you book
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Neil581

Thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us.

Take care and all the best for the future.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

If you're walking the SW Coast Path and aim to stop near here, the choice is minimal. Having said that, the single en-suite sea-facing room was extremely clean and tidy. Very unusually (for a hotel) it was well-lit! The evening food is to a reasonable 'pub grub' standard, but don't unrealistically anticipate culinary magic. Well-kept beer. The cooked breakfast was excellent. 'Benefit of doubt' gives 3.5 rounded-up to 4.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WillsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Having braved the SWCP walk of just over 15 miles from Bude (in reverse direction to normal) on a rather wet and very windy day (reputedly the toughest section of the whole Path), we stayed at this 'iconic' hotel in its amazing location.
The new owners are progressively modernising the facilities (much needed), but the place does still have character. Our bedroom was large with a great sea view; the bed reasonably comfortable; and the large bath was much appreciated. The breakfast options were rather limited - we both do not eat meat and there were no fish options.
After a tiring day, we e enjoyed our comfortable overnight stop.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank One_of_the_BOFs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel harks back to the time of Poldark in look and feel. Full of all the modern conveniences you could want (Wifi - only available in the bar due to the thick walls, being the only let down) The look and feel of the place plus the fantastic views and nearly walks make it an amazing place. The food is good quality pup food at a good price.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews