We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hartland Quay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Thought we would have lunch out at this pub as when we have been before it had been busy.
Firstly on walking in we were greeted by a sour faced very unfriendly barman with glasses on prob mid 30s baulding.
No smile said what do i want so ordered our drinks and sandwiches with chips they were huge he could have said 1 would be enough for 2.
He asked what table number we said outside so partner went to get a number when a women walked in he said to her your waiting as she dodnt get a table number sternly.
How rude this man is as we work in hosptality he needs to be put on a customer service course!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jj B

Many thanks for your review. I'm sorry you felt you had a bad experience - the staff member in question is well liked by all our staff and guests and has never been spoken of as rude before and certainly no offence was intended.
We do always like to address these kinds of issues in private rather than in a public domain as personal comments can be upsetting to the individual involved. The manager on duty on the day would have been happy to listen to your concerns.
That said, all feedback is very much appreciated and will be taken on board.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hartland Quay is one of the those magical places that everyone should visit once in a lifetime. The marriage of rough seas coming in from the Atlantic crashing onto Devon cliffs is heart stopping. To crown it all, it is blessed with the Hartland Quay Hotel. This is an extremely welcoming and friendly hotel, with staff that are second to none. The food is excellent and prices affordable for all.In fact I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where we were made more welcome and looked after so well. Age will prevent a further visit, but the memory will stay with us for ever.

Room Tip: If you have any physical disabilities, ask before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Neil581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Neil581

Thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to have you both stay with us.

Take care and all the best for the future.

Kind regards

Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

If you're walking the SW Coast Path and aim to stop near here, the choice is minimal. Having said that, the single en-suite sea-facing room was extremely clean and tidy. Very unusually (for a hotel) it was well-lit! The evening food is to a reasonable 'pub grub' standard, but don't unrealistically anticipate culinary magic. Well-kept beer. The cooked breakfast was excellent. 'Benefit of doubt' gives 3.5 rounded-up to 4.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WillsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Having braved the SWCP walk of just over 15 miles from Bude (in reverse direction to normal) on a rather wet and very windy day (reputedly the toughest section of the whole Path), we stayed at this 'iconic' hotel in its amazing location.
The new owners are progressively modernising the facilities (much needed), but the place does still have character. Our bedroom was large with a great sea view; the bed reasonably comfortable; and the large bath was much appreciated. The breakfast options were rather limited - we both do not eat meat and there were no fish options.
After a tiring day, we e enjoyed our comfortable overnight stop.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This hotel harks back to the time of Poldark in look and feel. Full of all the modern conveniences you could want (Wifi - only available in the bar due to the thick walls, being the only let down) The look and feel of the place plus the fantastic views and nearly walks make it an amazing place. The food is good quality pup food at a good price.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paulsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
15.2 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
23.5 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
9.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
609 reviews
23.0 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
749 reviews
23.1 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartland Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Address: Stoke, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: $172 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hartland Quay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing