We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base, Great location, super break away”

Review of Three Owls Lodge

Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Lounge Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Exterior
Lounge
Dining Area
Interior
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
En Suite
Bathroom
Penstowe Swimming Pool
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Surrounding Countryside
Approach To Lodge
Local Scenery
Local Residents
Surrounding Area
Fishing Lakes - Exclusive And Free To Guests
Kitchen And Dining Area
Interior
Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John P
1 review
“Great base, Great location, super break away”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is our second visit to this location. Travelled with a couple of close friends for a fishing weekend.
The lodge is well equipped and is close to private fishing lakes to which you have access. Also a great location for visiting north Devon, with nearby access to many beaches and walks.
The lodge is clean, well appointed and has a big deck with new outdoor furniture to sit comfortably when outside to enjoy the views and a glass of your favourite tipple!
Lodge owner was very helpful and provided local information that made things just that little bit easier. Free Wi-fi dongle and SIM is a real bonus to keep in touch with work via email etc.
I'm certain we will be back again next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsKay74
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A totally relaxing week in a beautiful part of the world. A clean, spacious lodge with every amenity. I visited with my hubby, 3 teenage children and a dog and the lodge did not feel overcrowded. There is decking to sit outside in the sunshine and plenty of walking areas to wear the dog out. The lodges have plenty of space between them, are not overlooked and the view is picturesque. A clean, quiet and relaxing lodge that was great value for money. What more could you ask for?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing location
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol H
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Three Owls lodge is lovely. Clean, tidy, well equipped, spacious - perfect for an old fashioned family holiday. We loved playing the games provided.
I went with my partner and his children and my sister and hers so there were 8 of us.
It rained, it was windy, the sun also shone sometimes. No one minded what the weather was like. It Was peaceful and noisy, lots of laughter and fun. A few teenage strops (what family holiday doesn't have these?)
Amazing country side, loads to do, and if you want to do nothing also a great place for that,
Far from the madding crowds but close enough to civilisation if you forget the milk.
I love running so fantastic for that as well. We didn't use the free club at Penstowe we were too busy. I would definitely go back - either with family or on my own with my partner. Perfect for either

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The games and space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
This review more or less sums up the attraction and success of the lodge in terms of guests' satisfaction over the years . The lodge provides a very high standard of accommodation and the location is secluded , not remote . Visitors not only have easy and immediate access to the North Devon and Cornwall coastline with its wealth of visitor attractions and activities but also stay in a rural and tranquil environment - the best of both worlds .

David Taylor
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longy999
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome-cannot wait to return!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If you like tacky seaside resorts,loud noise,drunks THEN THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU
However if you prefer the chance to unwind,relax and recharge the batteries in one of the most unspoilt and tranquill locations I have come across then this is it.I will start by saying the accomodation was very clean and set within a perfect place within the park with excellent unspoilt views over the countryside.Plenty of roominside with 3 bedrooms one being ensuite.The wildlife surrounding the park is astounding and we particularly loved watching the barn own come out every evening around 9pm to hunt for food.The fishing was also excellent and if you are looking to get your children/friends into fishing then look no further as there is a good stock of fish within the lakes with bites a plenty (early morning and late evening you will need some jungle formula at cetain times of the year due to the midges etc.). Theres plenty to do in and around we visited illfracombe and went on a sea safari.All in all a thouroghly enjoyable relaxing brake withe plenty of things to do should you wish.What are you waiting for !!! book !!! we will be for next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark W
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lodge, great location”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The perfect location for a long weekend of fishing at the adjoining lakes and pigging out on too much BBQ and wine!

The lodge is really well equipped whether you intend to use it as a base for the nearby beaches or just want some solitude with a fishing rod in your hand

Combining this with the very easy and pleasant interaction with the lodge owner means we will definitely be returning ( with wives permission slips of course!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lodge was great value and perfect for a fishing weekend
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing