We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely two-night break in the New Forest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhinefield House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely two-night break in the New Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Me and my girlfriend love the New Forest and chose Rhinefield due to its good reviews, proximity to local amenities, and its beautiful surroundings - we weren't disappointed. The food and accommodation were excellent, as were the staff. We only had one problem which was being woken up at 08:00 one morning by some workmen hammering somewhere nearby. Overall an excellent hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewMDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanOwen, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your complimentary review on Trip Advisor.

I was understandably delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel to be excellent and will be returning. Naturally the disturbance from the roofers was a disappointment but thankfully this urgent repair is now completed.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield House in the near future

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    435
    235
    103
    77
See reviews for
308
936
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here early March, in one of the timeshare apartments (sleep 6) which was very roomy for 4 people but would have been a bit tight for 6; 2 bathrooms, full kichen, all nicely done.

Location was fabulous, right in the New Forest & an easy drive to Southampton / Bournemouth & 2 lovely little villages (Brockenhurst & Lyndhurst) very nearby - felt like being a millions miles away from everyday life:)

The real star, though. was the magnificant building, which retained much of it's charm but was sympathetically modernised / extended where needed. The bar was very cosy & the dining rooms looked inviting (although we need not dine there, as preferred to sample the restaurants in the surrounding areas.) The grounds were particularly impressive, from the ponds stocked with fish, to the imposing driveway & mini-maze...you could spend hours walking / sitting & admiring - plus we were very lucky with the weather.

There were weddings taking place on the weekends, which added even more romance & glamour to the setting - all in all, a beautiful locaction / building - would love to return!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDebbieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanOwen, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It would seem that you thoroughly enjoyed your week at Rhinefield House and took advantage to visit many delightful towns and villages in the New Forest. The Maze is starting to shoot now and by late April will provide a real challenge to all ages!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield House when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes


Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night and had a lovely relaxing break. The hotel is beautiful, the room Goldcrest was very comfortable and spacious, the food was of a high quality and the service was excellent. We were particularly impressed with the Alhambra room -beautiful! My husband also stayed there recently for business and enjoyed it so much he returned and took me this time. We would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

Room Tip: My husband has stayed in two rooms, one a classic and the other an executive and both were excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patr2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanOwen, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay.

I have passed your complimentary feedback to my head housekeeper and restaurant manager. Both Lisa and Silvi were delighted to learn of your impression of the hotel and there areas of responsibility.

I cannot thank you enough for your personal recommendation as word of mouth is I believe the most powerful form of marketing for a hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield House when I can assure you of our very best attention.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable week-end at The Rhinefield House Hotel. Room was clean, comfortable and stylish. Dinner on both nights was first class. All Staff were obviously very well-trained, polite, efficient, professional and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent walking in the area and plenty of places to visit nearby. Will certainly visit again soon.
P.S. Can't understand the negative reviews on the site, as staff reacted immediately to any requests we had.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanOwen, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I am sure the team members will be delighted to learn that you found them to be ‘Polite, efficient and professional whilst retaining a friendly atmosphere.

The New Forest has a wealth of attractions and is popular all year round for walkers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the New Forest and Rhinefield House in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

i spent the night at Rhinefield House for my birthday, having booked a sunday night special with dinner inclusive with a glass of champagne and canapes. We arrived at the hotel an hour before official check in and luckily our room was ready. Check in was quick and friendly. we had booked a junior suite and were shown to the munro suite, which was lovely, massive really comfortable bed, a TV that emerged from the writing desk when required and a HUGE bathroom.. well worth the extra money. after a short walk around the stunning grounds we went to the spa, had a lovely jacuzzi and swim, champagne and canapes lovely, then dinner - i would give the food 3.5 out of 5. We had starters of crab chowder and scallops, these were amazing! my main was lamb with dauphinoise potatoes - lamb was beautifully cooked, but perhaps a tad too much sweet sauce with it, and the potatoes were more boulangere than dauphinoise - but these were small niggles.. Desserts were both lovely. Servce throughout was attentive and friendly.
We ventured to the lounge bar and had a nice quiet drink.. the wine prices are quite frankly ridiculous. I have been to many 4 and 5 star hotels and this is by far the most expensive. A few guests ventured in and decided against a drink because of the lack of a decently priced wine, so the hotel is probably losing out on money because the prices are scaring people off and there is really no need whatsoever.. if a michelin starred restaurant can have decent glasses of wine at £7 then like for like charging almost double is cheeky at best! That said i was there for a celebration and didnt mind spending the money so i had a couple of glasses of the pinot bianco and enjoyed the atmosphere in the bar, very cosy. (there was a small wedding party nearby and the noise didnt disturb the bar at all!)
Then we retired to bed and watched a dvd from the hotels dvd library which i think is a nice touch. Breakfast was nice- not the best but all ingredients very enjoyable and couldnt fault the service. The hot water only lasted for one bath in the morning which wasnt great but thats such a small niggle for an otherwise great stay.

Setting - stunning,
Staff, all very helpful and friendly,
food very good value
overall experience is that i cant wait to go back and would possibly consider getting married here i loved it

Room Tip: Munro suite lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMUR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanOwen, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the Munro Suite which is a very popular bedroom. The grounds throughout the year at Rhinefield are stunning and many guests enjoy a leisurely stroll through our 40 acre estate.

I have noted your comments about wine prices in the bar and lounge area and as always we do listen to all feedback and in our annual reviews on the property will consider all aspects of service and hospitality.

We have this week installed a new hot water boiler system especially for the Munro Suite which will ensure a constant flow of hot water addressing some feedback on this subject.

I will pass on your kind words with regards team members and how friendly and attentive you found them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield House and the New Forest in the very near future.

Best wishes

Jonathan Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.0 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
4.0 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
5.7 km away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
10.3 km away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
12.4 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price range (per night): $188 - $380
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing