We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great staff, great food.”
Review of The Pig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pig
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room, great staff, great food.”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had high expectations of The Pig having read a lot of good things and these were definitely met. The staff were excellent and managed to change all of the feather bedding to hypoallergenic alternative upon arrival as I had forgot to request in advanced. The dinner we shared was top notch with excellent wine and there is a choice of cosy drawing rooms in which to enjoy drinks and a game of chess. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    374
    192
    126
    53
See reviews for
246
905
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at the pig last week. We had the hen house room which had the most amazing bathroom with a tv at the foot of the bath. We loved looking round the kitchen garden, enjoyed chilling in the library reading papers and eating 'piggy bits' and playing backgammon at the bar. The interior design is excellent and the ambience at night was very special with candles and roaring fires. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant and no issues at all with the service.
We also used herb house spa down the road at the sister hotel Limewood which was very relaxed and great to be able to use this as a guest at the pig.
We really loved the vibe of this hotel, the interior design and the focus on home grown and locally sourced food. We would definitely recommend it and would love to go back.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BristolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

This was a truly great evening. Food there is fantastic and only topped by the atmosphere. Arrive a bit early to have a drink in the bar.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berks, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We visited The Pig for 3 nights(with our dog!) and consequently were allocated 'The Dog House' which is one of the hideaway mini suites. It was perfect for us and the hound who had his 'own room' by the front door, dog bed provided, big food and water bowls so no worries there even though we had packed everything but the kitchen sink!The room is on the ground floor with a delightful little terrace which is a sun trap. VERY large comfy bed, sitting room with flat screen TV and mini cold larder (larder is well stocked but expensive so beware!) Bathroom large with shower big enough for 2 (if you are that way inclined!) and free standing bath. Very quiet and peaceful even though the hotel was full. Monday was a little bit of a nightmare as there was a wedding going on, and the restaurant and outside terrace was closed to residents, and I do think guests should have been warned of this, as there is no room service available at this venue at any time- bit of a blow for those with children as well. The grounds are beautiful, and it was lovely to wake up and find a New Forest group of ponies 'dining out' at 6am, just yards from our terrace. Great to see the kitchen garden as well, where the produce is picked daily and served on the menu. If we have any criticisms it would be the lack of room service firstly (for the cost) and also the floors in the room is stripped possibly reclaimed wood - hard on the feet and also, after padding around in bare feet after a shower, you found the bottom of your feet quite dirty - so take slippers as these are NOT PROVIDED.!! We had to resort to using the lovely wood burning stove as it turned pretty cold on the second night - huge basket of kindling and wood and newspapers next to it made it easy to set up, and even the necessary box of matches to light it! I would think this room would be wonderful in winter or summer. Overall we would return but beware, the breakfast is additional at a charge of £15 per person for a hot breakfast, and we didnt feel that what we received warranted it, not the service first thing in the morning - we are early risers and breakfast was not set up and ready by any means. We would return, but hope they put those little additional comforts in to make it a truly lovely stay. We are reviewing the restaurant separately, so please check out that review as well.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'hideaway' section are quiet, comfortable and suitable for families with childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffeyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here for one night and subsequently arranged lunch with friends here too. Lovely setting, really enjoyable food; attentive service and would like to go again!
The menu includes fresh veg from the beautiful vegetable garden - a perfect horticultural example with passionate gardening team -
Couldn't fault the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phylisbide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
4.2 km away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,254 reviews
5.1 km away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
7.2 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
1.2 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,590 reviews
5.4 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pig

Property: The Pig
Address: Beaulieu Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QL, England (Formerly Whitley Ridge Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price range (per night): $260 - $432
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pig 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pig is a bang up to date take on a new style of home grown, 26 bedroom country house hotel and what that needs to be today - original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment. It's really a restaurant with rooms. This is a place that is all about the walled garden and everything is driven by the gardener/forager and chef - they grow and find the food - the chef then makes the menu. The style is home grown in every way - breaking the mold of designed hotels, daring to be comfortable in its own skin, working with what it has and recognising what is good about that. It won't be perfect, it will be warm, relaxed, comfy, interesting, and homely with muted colours, a bit shabby chic and evolved rather than interior designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pig Hotel Brockenhurst
Hotel Whitley Ridge
Whitley Ridge Brockenhurst
The Pig Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing