We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,957)
Filter reviews
1,957 results
Traveller rating
1,142
487
172
100
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,142
487
172
100
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beresfords restaurant new forest superior room jacuzzi and sauna indoor and outdoor pools leisure facilities afternoon tea lovely hotel lounge area four poster family room restaurant manager short break lovely room relaxing break wedding anniversary birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 1,957 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Wonderful time at the Balmer Lawn for my Fathers 90th Birthday. Superb three course dinner, staff and service were amazing. Room we hired had own patio and gardens, also very safe area for children to play in. Highly recommend this hotel for a holiday or private function.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Janice M

The Savernake Room is a delightful room with a sunny aspect and private terrace ideal for family occasions like your Fathers 90th Birthday. So nice to read that you enjoyed your time with us and our Executive Head Chef Chris Wheeldon and his team will be made up to read your comments about the quality of the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

My wife and I wanted a break and chose the Brockenhurst.
The Balmer Lawn Hotel is slap bang in the middle of the New Forest.
We arrived late in the evening, and were greeted by Leila - very charming and very helpful - as are all the staff at the hotel.
Bed and Breakfast was our package of choice and absolutely no regrets there.
We hope to return there again.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Solomon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Solomon A

Simple and to the point - thank you for your great comments - greatly appreciated by us all and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Spa package weekend. The hotel is certainly in a great spot to explore the New Forest. The hotel comes across as prestigious but it feels like the maturity of the building hinders it keeping up with the times. Nonetheless we had an enjoyable stay having an express spa treatment in Saltus Spa followed by a lovely meal in Beresfords Restaurant. The breakfast in the morning served us well. We also had a fun evening eating in the lounge area where the staff were very amenable and looked after us admirably. A word of warning...The Pig restaurant/bar up the road is an expensive venue.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Penstance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Penstance H

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay with us and delighted to read that you had such a great time exploring all that the New Forest has to offer. Our teams in the Lounge Bar and Saltus Spa will be particularly interested in your observations.

I could not possible comment about The Pig - but do agree with yours that we are much better value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The staff are so helpful and friendly. Our room was perfect, no complaints there. I can highly recommend the restaurant and the breakfast is top notch too. The spa and facilities are brilliant. I will definitely be back to this place which is perfectly positioned for all the places to visit in the beautiful New Forest.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Helen G

Thank you for such a great review, all of your comments are greatly appreciated and valued. It is so important to all that work at the hotel to know how our clients feel about the hotel and their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and please remember to book directly with the hotel in order to get the best value deal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Wow! This really restored my faith in voucher deals. Our half day spa with afternoon tea was just lovely. It was a beautiful early spring day and we arrived early to go for a walk in the forest from the hotel. The receptionist helpfully gave us a suggested route. Then we were shown to the spa and leisure area. The pool was not busy, never more than half a dozen people around, so there was a lounger for everyone and at times, I had the pool, sauna and jacuzzi to myself. My friend enjoyed her massage and facial and we were both impressed with both the quality and service of the afternoon tea. We've both resolved to go back, perhaps for an overnight stay when the weather is warmer and the outdoor pool is open. The dinner menu looked rather good!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank funnylittlewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris W, Owner at Balmer Lawn Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear funnylittlewoman

What a lovely review and comments - thank you so much our Reception and Saltus Spa teams will be delighted to read your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews