We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly, clean & comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blacksmith's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blacksmith's House
Ranked #7 of 33 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean & comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break to the New forest. This B&B is lovely, Sam who works there is very friendly, helpful and makes lovely breakfast scones and pancakes. You're made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The rooms are clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities plus home made biscuits which are yummy! The hotel is in a great location, there are two bike hire companies near the station plus restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: We booked the Cat & Fiddle room which was on the 1st floor, the shower was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danishKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    35
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
37
114
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The Blacksmith's House is a truly exceptional bed and breakfast. The service and hospitality are second to none. The breakfasts are delicious and you would like a full English there is a small charge. Personally I found the alternative breakfast a refreshing change and felt much better equipped for a day's cycling or walking than if I'd filled up on greasy grilled meats and eggs for breakfast.

Cat& Fiddle is an excellent room. We had a wonderful few days and would recommend this B&B to anyone. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pariate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here on a short visit to the New Forest - soon after we booked we were contacted with details of our stay, as well as food, parking, access and so on. Directions were given and easily followed, and we found afternoon tea laid out and melt-in-the-mouth home-made biscuits in our room. Our hosts could not have been friendlier, and we found the whole atmosphere to be warm and inviting. Breakfast was a lavish affair, a welcome change from the full English, and, unrequested, the owners had even gone to the trouble of finding suitable bread for my partner, who is coeliac. Our room was also cleaned so well in the morning that we think that even our flask was washed out, an extraordinary detail, but one symptomatic of the attention to detail here, Our room was comfortable and inviting, and we felt that we could, indeed, were encouraged, to come and go as we pleased. The location is ideal for getting into the Forest, and, although there is some traffic noise in the morning, this is the flip side of being in such a useful location, and it was not an issue for us. In all, this was a real find and, when we return, it will be at the very top of our list.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jebonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

we wanted somewhere that would let us feel comfortable with our dog and we have found it.
the breakast was lovely the people lovely and when we have time we will come back.
really nice for a short break. the fact there was food etc and homemade biscuits in the room was a lovley touch

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayneandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The first thing I noticed when entering Blacksmith's was the smell of cleanliness and fresh linen and that, for me, is probably the most important thing! Then, as you enter the house, you see a big wooden table with cakes and biscuits and really nice homemade soda bread (any hour of the day you may wish to come back).

Our room (the cat and fiddle) was really cozy and clean. We really enjoyed breakfast and neither my partner nor I missed the full fry up. Cheeses, ham, salami, eggs, smoked salmon, tomatoes, jam and marmalade, nutella, yogurt, pancakes, and different types of bread, coffee and tea, plus the possibility to make our own sandwiches and take them with us for lunch, is more than what we wished for. Tracy (the owner) is not only very friendly but also very professional. She suggested cycling routes and walking trips in the surrounding area and she was generally very knowledgeable and helpful.

For those of you who-like us-are visiting the New Forest for the first time and want a weekend of exploration, Brockenhurst and The Blacksmith's House (2 minutes from the train station) is a great choice!

Room Tip: The Cat and Fiddle is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Di0nysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.3 km away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.0 km away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
4.5 km away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
8.5 km away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 km away
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Thatched Cottage Hotel
#4 of 33 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blacksmith's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blacksmith's House

Property: The Blacksmith's House
Address: 4 Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price range (per night): $114 - $181
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable warm house with modern conveniences and traditional touches.There is always something to eat - home made shortbread biscuits scone's in the dining room on arrival. Complimentary afternoon tea of scones with butter and jam, Bara Brith and biscuits available every afternoon. Breakfast is Full English Cereals Fruits Yogurts Toast and Preserves Fruit JuicesTea and Coffee etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Blacksmith's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blacksmith's House Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing