We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not like it used to be!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Filly Inn

The Filly Inn
Ranked #21 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The menu isnt as extensive as it once was, and the quality of the food is okay where it used to be excellent.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    119
    49
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

If you like poor overpriced food this is the place for you, avoid like the plauge even if you have a Groupon voucher - The Hobler down the road on the other hand is excellent, spend your hard earned money there.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobRossUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

We took my parents here for their wedding anniversary back in September 2010. The food was OK but the whole lunch was spoiled by the young Landlord negotiating with a wine merchant two tables away from us. After half an hour of that I felt sorry for the landlord, is mum (who was doing some of the cooking), and us. I also knew an awfu lot more about mark ups, how credit works in the licensed trade, and how a pub should be laid out to maximise profit. This was interesting but not quite what we wanted. The wine merchant continually referred to the pub as a gold-mine and so it should be. Our more recent visit - for drinks - was ok.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tireisias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Bought a Groupon Voucher for this pub which we hadn't visited before - worried about it afterwards as the reviews weren't brill however the food was great! The menu had good options and we had a three course meal for 4 - mostly different choices and all were cooked to perfection.
Nice old pub with good food - give it a go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank listuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not good value without the Groupon discount and service patchy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Visited lunchtime with wife and friends using a Groupon voucher offering 4 three-course meals for £38. Not a particularly warm welcome, and service throughout was very variable. Customer service training would be a good idea here.
My starter, leek and Stilton tart, was excellent, but the meal went downhill from there. The "well done" burger was burnt to a cinder, I should have sent it back. Excellent chips and perfectly adequate salad accompanied it. Dessert was, allegedly, Eton Mess, but apart from pieces of strawberry on the top, a few pieces of chewy meringue and some red sauce, it was mostly cream, so very sickly indeed.
My wife had crab ramekin, which was OK, but at £7.50 it should be! She paid an extra £5 for lemon sole, but was disappointed at both the texture and flavour of the fish. For dessert, she made the same mistake as me by ordering Eton mess.
At regular prices we would have paid well over £40 for our two meals, but thankfully the Groupon voucher halved that. However, when you have had a disappointing meal, the fact that you have saved money is no consolation at all.
One to avoid until they get their act together.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whenim64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Filly Inn also viewed

 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Sway, Brockenhurst
 

Been to The Filly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing