We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”

Review of South View

Lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area
Bedroom with king size bed
Garden and countryside views
Kitchen and dining area
South View
Kitchen
French doors leading to Al Fresco area
Bathroom
Bedroom
Crooklets Beach Bude
Barrel Rock Bude
Bude canal, lock gates and Summerleaze Beach Bude
The Tree Inn Stratton
Maer Lake Bude
View of Stratton church
St Andrews church and square Stratton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I stayed for 3 nights as I'd been working in the area. Despite her father being ill, Gill was very attentive and was warm and welcoming. The extras were much appreciated!
I nearly didn't stay here as I was put off by the fact it was an appartment. I was worried i'd be able to hear footsteps, the TV. etc above me. Well, I needn't have worried as the soundproofing was excellent and I didn't hear a thing!

The appartment is more spacious than I expected. There is a room between the bedroom and bathroom which houses the fridge freezer and this, together with the outside area, gives the appartment a very spacious feel. The view with the sheep is especially lovely.

I really liked Bude as it hasn't been gentrified like other places in Cornwall so it feels more authentic. Do check out the sea pool (and even better swim in it as I did!) as it's unique in the UK. Then head over the headland to Rosie's Kitchen on Crooklets beach where you'll find good food and a wood burner!

If you're a CAMRA member, check out the Kings Arms in Stratton. I had a lovely pint of Doom Bar!

I'll be working again in this area, so I'll definitely be back to South View!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We have had lots of comments just like yours about how spacious and quiet the apartment is. Also pleased you enjoyed swimming in Bude Sea Pool, as locals we are very proud of it! Great to meet you and looking forward to your next stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thandimac
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely clean property with great views and in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had a lovely stay here, it was way more than anything we could have expected for the price. It was very private, cosy, nicely finished, and spotless, and the outside space and views were amazing. It also felt very safe which I think is important when staying in an area you don't know. Plenty of outside space to leave the bikes and surfboards!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
Thank you for your review, good to hear you enjoyed your stay here. Lots of our guests have enjoyed the outside under cover area, for either storing their bikes/surf boards as you mentioned or for just chilling in the morning or evening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah_gra...
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment - perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband, our dog and I stayed for 3 nights in South View - we were looking for complete relaxation and to get away from it all. We chose self catering so we could do our own thing - lay in, lounge around if we wanted etc!! We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. South View is wonderful!
We got bit lost in the village trying to find the place so I called the owner Gill who had sent me directions but I couldn't open them on my phone!! Technology eh! She gave directions but the reception wasn't great - next thing we knew - she'd sent the cavalry and her husband had driven out to find us!!! He got us safely there in minutes! They were both very welcoming but at the same time also left us to enjoy the apartment.
As soon as you see it you know its going to be great - even the outside is clean and tidy! The views across the fields are lovely and the under cover outside area is just great for morning tea or evening drinkies!! We didn't get round to using the BBQ as the nights were a bit chilly but next time we will!!
The whole place is spotless and so well equipped - all the furniture is very comfortable, the bed, sofas etc and its all very spacious too - surprisingly so! The bathroom is lovely with a walk in shower and we needed absolutely nothing our whole stay.
The kitchen too is brilliantly equipped - we cooked for 2 of the 3 nights and it was like being at home! Unlike some places which give you a plate each and a saucepan!!!
The location is great too - its odd as its 5 mins drive to Bude but about 40 mins walk they say - I can see why now we've been there. To be honest Bude itself as a Town didn't really do it for us but the little village the apartment is in was nice and quiet and the pub we went to one eve did very nice food. But as a base for other places its perfect - we were in easy reach of Boscastle, Tintagle, Crackington Haven and beyond all of which are great to visit for walks and scenery. What we did like about Bude itself were the beach walks - wonderful!
All in all we couldn't have asked for anything better - we just loved this apartment and will definately return. The only shame being it doesn't sleep four so we can share with friends who we know would love it too!
On our last eve Gill popped down with some tomatoes from their garden which I thought was very sweet and just goes to show what a great place this is.
This is by far the best self catering place we have stayed in - facilities, comfort, luxury and location - it has it all - we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect!
Liked least: Only having 3 nights here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I know you said you had enjoyed your stay at the time and reading this its evident to all just how much! As you mentioned there are some great walks in and around Bude, both on the beaches and the coastal paths, not forgeting the footpath along the canal. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again on your return to South View.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindlie
aol.com
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great First Stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here for a few days in September. The accommodation is first rate and extremely clean and well furnished, with most of the items you would need during your stay. It has lovely views and is in a nice quiet village location, not far from Bude. There was a lovely welcome tray awaiting us with fresh bread and home made buns and fresh flowers too,to give it a nice homely feel. The owner is very nice and friendly and lives above the rental accommodation, which is totally separate, just in case you have any queries. We had a great time here and look forward to our return in 2013.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and looking forward to seeing you back next year, this time for two weeks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the shower and the lovely welcome
Liked least: Nothing disappointed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2012
Many thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed our accommodation, it was a pleasure to have you and really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing