We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment - perfect getaway!”

Review of South View

Lounge area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Lounge area
View from Al Fresco area
Bedroom with king size bed
Garden and countryside views
Kitchen and dining area
South View
Kitchen
French doors leading to Al Fresco area
Bathroom
Bedroom
Crooklets Beach Bude
Barrel Rock Bude
Bude canal, lock gates and Summerleaze Beach Bude
The Tree Inn Stratton
Maer Lake Bude
View of Stratton church
St Andrews church and square Stratton
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sarah_gra...
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment - perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband, our dog and I stayed for 3 nights in South View - we were looking for complete relaxation and to get away from it all. We chose self catering so we could do our own thing - lay in, lounge around if we wanted etc!! We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. South View is wonderful!
We got bit lost in the village trying to find the place so I called the owner Gill who had sent me directions but I couldn't open them on my phone!! Technology eh! She gave directions but the reception wasn't great - next thing we knew - she'd sent the cavalry and her husband had driven out to find us!!! He got us safely there in minutes! They were both very welcoming but at the same time also left us to enjoy the apartment.
As soon as you see it you know its going to be great - even the outside is clean and tidy! The views across the fields are lovely and the under cover outside area is just great for morning tea or evening drinkies!! We didn't get round to using the BBQ as the nights were a bit chilly but next time we will!!
The whole place is spotless and so well equipped - all the furniture is very comfortable, the bed, sofas etc and its all very spacious too - surprisingly so! The bathroom is lovely with a walk in shower and we needed absolutely nothing our whole stay.
The kitchen too is brilliantly equipped - we cooked for 2 of the 3 nights and it was like being at home! Unlike some places which give you a plate each and a saucepan!!!
The location is great too - its odd as its 5 mins drive to Bude but about 40 mins walk they say - I can see why now we've been there. To be honest Bude itself as a Town didn't really do it for us but the little village the apartment is in was nice and quiet and the pub we went to one eve did very nice food. But as a base for other places its perfect - we were in easy reach of Boscastle, Tintagle, Crackington Haven and beyond all of which are great to visit for walks and scenery. What we did like about Bude itself were the beach walks - wonderful!
All in all we couldn't have asked for anything better - we just loved this apartment and will definately return. The only shame being it doesn't sleep four so we can share with friends who we know would love it too!
On our last eve Gill popped down with some tomatoes from their garden which I thought was very sweet and just goes to show what a great place this is.
This is by far the best self catering place we have stayed in - facilities, comfort, luxury and location - it has it all - we'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect!
Liked least: Only having 3 nights here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I know you said you had enjoyed your stay at the time and reading this its evident to all just how much! As you mentioned there are some great walks in and around Bude, both on the beaches and the coastal paths, not forgeting the footpath along the canal. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again on your return to South View.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindlie
aol.com
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great First Stay”
Reviewed 14 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here for a few days in September. The accommodation is first rate and extremely clean and well furnished, with most of the items you would need during your stay. It has lovely views and is in a nice quiet village location, not far from Bude. There was a lovely welcome tray awaiting us with fresh bread and home made buns and fresh flowers too,to give it a nice homely feel. The owner is very nice and friendly and lives above the rental accommodation, which is totally separate, just in case you have any queries. We had a great time here and look forward to our return in 2013.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your break with us and looking forward to seeing you back next year, this time for two weeks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the shower and the lovely welcome
Liked least: Nothing disappointed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2012
Many thanks for your review, so pleased you enjoyed our accommodation, it was a pleasure to have you and really hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maureen J
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Exactly as described. will be back”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Had a really great time here. Plenty of places to visit nearby. The accomodation was excellent just like home from home I cannot find any fault at all. Every need was catered for and everything was spotless. We are looking forwards to going back again and would reccommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The holiday overall was great everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your positive comments. We are greatly looking forward to having you back to stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcw12kcox
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent location - with all facilities”
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

The previous reviews - and the description of the property is entirely accurate. The property is spotless and spacious and well furnished. It actually forms the lower level of a two level property with the owners above - so not far to go in the event of any queries. I won't cover the previous reviewers comments but I will add the following:
- Plenty of cupboard space
- Large shared well kept garden with views over the valley
- The TV actually has Sky HD in the remote event you get bored!
- Parking on site
- Towels and linens supplied
- local village shop within 1/4 mile and a Morrison's in Bude is only 1 mile away (and there's a nice off road walk to it).

To give an example of the great service - I mentioned I was bringing a bike down - and I found in the property a leaflet on all the local cycle routes which the owner had got especially for me.

One tip - do make sure that you get detailed directions to the property - otherwise you'll be asking locals for the exact location once the Sat Nav has done it's job as all the properties go by names not numbers. In addition there's a steep drive up to the property which would be a challenge to the less mobile not in a car.

Stratton is also on the various main roads which allow easy access to other parts of East Cornwall or North Devon.

The only small niggle I had is the lack of choice in bedding - it's a continental quilt or nothing - and it might be a bit warm i the weather suddenly turned.

Overall then - excellent choice of property. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service and cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2012
Many thanks for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime in the future. In response to your bedding comment the duvet supplied is a lightweight summer version, when the colder months arrive its changed for a warm winter weight duvet. So we do try and cater for all seasons to ensure our guests comfort.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing