We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“7 of us!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Post Office Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Post Office Cottage
Lounge seating and fire place, inglenook fireplace with bread oven. Lounge seating/Diner/Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
The Old Post Office Cottage
Lounge seating and fire place, inglenook fireplace with bread oven.
Lounge seating/Diner/Kitchen area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite - New Dec 2012. (Bath, Shower, basin and Toilet)
Children's Bedroom
Downstairs Bedroom
The Dining Room
Kitchen/ Diner, including new dish washer - Dec 2012.
Wet room - downstairs
Inglenook fire place and bread oven
Crackington Havern
North Petherwin Village
The Beautiful North Cornish Coast
At Low Tide - North Coast
Widemouth Bay
Catch the Ferry from Rock to Padstow
Cottage Garden
At Low Tide - North Coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon H
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peacful but remote location.”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I thought this cottage was a couple of miles away from Launceston turned out quite a trek some 5 miles into Launceston.

The nearest pub, The Countrymen 1.5 miles and a taxi to their £13-£14 each way. Taxis are outrageously prices in Cornwall. Be warned.

Got back after being out all day and sat in the garden which was lovely with a glass of wine listening to the birdies.

As I was on crutches the cottage wasn’t easily accessible. There is a big step round the side of the house. The owners have put 2 slabs to make the step smaller but it could do with another one. However with my crutches I managed very slowly.

The wet room is great being on the ground floor but has two small steps so difficult to get in and out as the door couldn’t be opened fully due to a dresser being in the way.

However this is a property of 500+ years of age so that has to be taken into account.

The tiny steps down into the bedroom need remembering, but again nothing could be done due to age of the property.

The downstairs bedroom I slept in has the gas meter right above the bed so the noise was a nuisance. I have very acute hearing and wore earplugs but I could still hear it. However a good sleeper would be fine. Weirdly even once the central heating was off, you could hear the meter click now and again in the night.

Terms and conditions state the breakage deposit would be refunded in 10 days. However after 12 days no deposit. I sent an email to owner reminding them it’s been 12 days can you refund my money with my bank details. I was told it would be done that day It didn't. Next day still no deposit so emailed again. No reply. Finally the money was refunded after 14 days. No apology was made.

With hindsight I would go further south as everything was approx an hour drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Garden.
Liked least: The Gas Meter in the downstairs bedroom.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
I think this is a fair review of the cottage, it is old, quirky with plenty of character, and not particularly accessible on crutches! Fortunately, downstairs there is a double bedroom, wet room, bathroom and toilet, which is popular with our not so young guests!
The mattresses on the beds used are brand new, however we are buying some new bedding this month. Prices of taxis, location, nearest pub are not really in our control.
Ref repayment of deposit. The customer sent me her bank account details in the morning, that evening I sent the payment electronically as I said I would, I believe the amount was in her account the next morning!
The customer asked, as they were travelling early from home to beat the traffic, if they could enter the cottage early. We obliged, 3 hours early, this seems to have been omitted from their review and was free of charge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“7 of us!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage in a small village.
There were 7 of us and the cottage coped with us no problem; 2 double, 3 single and a put-me-up bed.
The covered, outside BBQ came in very handy most nights.
The cottage is well equipped, including a disc-washer and a washing machine.We used the cottage as a hub, travelling to our chosen destination each day. This worked well because of the fairly central location of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you......

It always great to hear such positive comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane881
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage in nice village”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was a lovely old cottage, spacious and set in a quaint village. The owner,Julian had told us about a walk near the church which was handy as we arrived before time to get into the property so we were able to walk the dogs, this was a lovely wood which we went to every morning,a five minute walk from the cottage.

We had a couple of small problems which Julian sorted very promptly, very friendly guy who told us of a couple of pubs in the area, both of which we tried and were very good, The Eliot Arms in Tregadillett and The Countryman just down the road. Half a mile from the cottage was Tamar Otter Park, we walked down and had an enjoyable time there, otters are very entertaining! Good wooded area too with wildlife.

Garden was secure so you don't have to worry about dogs getting out, we did find the gates a pain to open and close so they could do with some maintenance but other than that we all had a great time and felt at home in this old cottage!

A visitors book would have been helpful, had them before in cottages we have stayed, good to get recommendations from people who have stayed there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and plenty of space for everyone
Liked least: The gates!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
The gate is a little tricky, you have to lift it a little as you open/ close it......however this does prevent the gate swinging freely and blocking the road and causing an obstruction to the occasional tractor! With reference to the guest book, great idea, as long as it's used positively, I.e. Recommendations of pubs, local attractions, walks and beaches. It's a shame when the book is abused as in the past! Will reintroduce though.....thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The village was lovely
Liked least: The cleanliness and disbled friendliness of the property
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 May 2013
We take customers comments very seriously, trying to improve the Cottage to meet everyone’s expectations where possible, in December we added an en-suite to the Master Bedroom and a installed a new dish washer in the kitchen!
We hate to disappoint customers, when they have been so looking forward to their holiday, however......
In this case we feel our Cottage has been unfairly judged. Our 300 year old cottage will never comply with the Disability Discrimination Act 1995, the details describe it as ‘There is a double bedroom downstairs, providing easier access to the wet/ shower room and family bathroom for less mobile visitors’. The Cottage does not have ramps etc but a bathroom, double bedroom, toilet and wet room on the ground floor! Country Cottage gardens tend to have lots of steps. Admittedly the garden at this time of year, is not at its best, the winter weather has seen to this!
The cottage was not suitable for this particular customer, and from then on it was downhill.......
We have always been commented on the nice touches, vase of fresh flowers, and fresh milk for a cup of tea. We make the fire, leave enough kindling and logs for a couple of fires during the winter months, logs can be acquired 100 yrds down the road.
We are always on the end of the phone, it’s a shame the customer could not call us to resolve these issues, logs.
The key is hidden away, but comprehensive instructions are given as to where the key can be found. Customers in the past occasionally have called to confirm where it is, normally because they have not brought the key instructions with them!
Old cottages, with character are not suitable for everyone. The Cottage has been booked for 30+ weeks per year for the past six years. The feedback is mostly positive and customers book year after year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Not one thing in particular liked it all
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2012
It is so nice to receive these comments. We try and cater for all holiday makers....... This customer booked again in Oct 2012, and has already booked again for Feb 2013!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing