We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location with all the essentials l”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fairhill Cottage

View of Cottage from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Cottage from the front
Lounge Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
View of Cottage from the front
Lounge
Dining Room
Double Room
Twin room
View from cottage along street
The Garden
Bathroom
All our guests are provided with towels
Down by the river just a short walk away
The front door
Bracklin Falls, just a short walk from the cottage
The cottage in the depths of winter
View along the main st
Many of our guests are attending functiona at the Roman Camp just 200M away
Feed the ducks by the river!
Ben Ledi from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rachaelbu...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location with all the essentials l”
Reviewed 3 August 2018 for a stay in July 2018

I’ve been visiting the village my whole life as I have family there and can confirm the cottage is in an ideal location and close to all the amenities. It had all the essentials you need, it’s basic but very comfortable. Richard was very accommodating and would definitely recommend staying at Fairhill!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Thank you for your review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Hope the unicorn found its way home from its extended holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GaD6
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“snowed in, but warm and comfy”
Reviewed 1 April 2018 for a stay in January 2018

right, stayed for 10 nights, hit the "Beast from the East" ,big snow and no go anywhere for several days, red alert, supermarket almost opposite cottage, anything else within walking distance, friendly laundry lady at " washing well"( Station Rd), shop managers and salespeople all lovely, also local library and information service, lots of charity shops to browse, car parking possible on main street, only once needed to park in side street..first come first serve, managed to keep house warm and cosy even with snow and ice all outside, it's not home, so one has to figure out how things work and how to use, but had iron, hairdryer, iron board, tv, stove/oven( I managed to use it, it's not rocket science!), shower which worked well enough for us( it's not 5 star, but it works and nothing to complain about seeing the bigger picture and very reasonable price, stayed with 2 adults and 2 children ( 9/11), kids been easily happy having perfect free wifi all over the house, played in the heavy snow at the back door steps and garden, clean and perfectly located place, yes road noise as mentioned in add, but first we spend most of the daytime cruising through the area if possible, second when tired and dark seems not to matter too much anymore at the end of the day, couple of nice trips with the kids to Stirling Peak Pool, trip to Doune Castle, only 12 km, nice meal at " lade inn", Overland trip to Oban.......
Clean, practical, central, unique, kids liked it, we too............if we ever manage to come to the other side of the world again, might be back a another stay, Cheers from New Zealand

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2018
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you had a good stay despite the beast from the east perhaps curtailing your plans. Hope you had a safe trip back to New Zealand
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angleseyp...
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wish I had read previous reviews”
Reviewed 26 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

How I wish I had come across previous reviews before booking. We were so disappointed in Fairhill Cottage. After a seven hour journey it would have been nice to arrive and have a welcome tray with tea bags etc awaiting you. No such luck. The cottage is small and the heating was effective. There are two rooms downstairs plus a very minute kitchen. In both lounges the furniture had obviously not been moved and the floors were dusty behind the furniture. There is no double glazing and I note that mention has been made that it is not allowed due to planning issues. However, this should be mentioned on the website as the traffic noise is very loud. OK if you don't mind being woken at 5.30 am by lorries thundering past.
I noted on reading other reviews that there were issues with the kitchen as far back as 2016 and these obviously have not been rectified. The rings on the cooker would not heat up and after the first night we gave up trying. This has nothing to do with people anticipating instant heat with an induction cooker. The cooker does not work!!! The microwave was filthy and covered in dried on baked beans so that had to be scrubbed as did the cutlery. We were left washing up liquid but only enough for two squirts. I went out and bought my own measuring jug because the two there were disgusting as were oven baking trays and I had to buy kitchen knives as the two available were useless. Crockery is clean and decent quality. However, one egg cup when the property caters for 7 shows that not enough thought has gone into what guests need. There is new carpet on the stairs and in the bedrooms which was nice but it would have been nice to have been able to close the bedroom doors as there were no catches on the doors and you could not close the bathroom door - it would only push to. Beds were clean and comfortable and towels were clean. I would suggest that the owner would purchase a toilet brush instead of having a kitchen pan scrubber in an empty pasta jar as the toilet brush. Not very hygienic. Sorry, but I thought that value for money was poor and would I stay here again - No

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2018
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, I will respond to your points in the order that you have made them.
1. With regard to dust behind sofas, the floors are all swept and mopped between each set of guests, the sofas are not pulled out from the walls every time (approx 1 in 3) and obviously in this case there was some resudual dust
2. With regard to the road noise, we have no control as to what traffic uses the road. The cottage is advertised as being on the main street and as such is on the busiest road in the town, many of our guests choose its location for this very reason as it is handy for all of Callanders amenities. I would suggest that if you are looking for a quiet location that you choose a more isolated cottage next time.
3. With regard to the cooker, you are incorrect it does work - I think your problem was the cooker switch (situated below the oven) was left the "off" postion, I turned on all 4 rings when I was at the cottage and they all got hot. I am very surprised given that you had our contact details that you didn't email or phone so that this could be resolved quickly and easily.
4. With regard to cutlery etc being filthy, I am very surprised - we do not rewash up everything between lets but expect that if our guests have put them away that they are clean - we do a quick visual check in cupboards and drawers so in this case can only apologise if this was missed. Measuring jugs and baking trays are replaced periodically and do show signs of staining and discolouration with time, again we apologise if these were missed. We started off with 4 egg cups and hadn't realised that there was only 1 left!
5. With regard to door catches, we started off with all doors having these fitted but given that they are the original heavy wooden doors the locks/catches were externally mounted - This caused a problem with one family whose small children managed to lock themseves in the bathroom, unable to work out the lock mechanism. Since then we took them off to avoid further incidents.
6. The toilet brush was a temporary measure as the old one had gone missing in the let before you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location
Liked least: The garden not backing directly onto the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing