We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL IS CLOSED - DO NOT BOOK!!”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I booked accommodation through the hotel's own website on 30 August. Got confirmation email etc. Turned up on 1 Sept to find the hotel is closed. I immediately assumed there was some sort of scam going on because I had to give credit card details to make the booking. I phoned my bank, no payment had been taken but I cancelled my card to be safe. In various shops in the town, we overheard locals and shop staff discussing the hotel. We went into Visit Scotland office to make them aware of our experience but it turns out they are well aware of it and that it is a regular occurance for people to book on websites, turn up to find hotel is closed and has been since a fire last year. Apparently, was supposed to re-open in March this year but the back of the hotel still has no roof. I have reported Dreadnought's website to Stirling Trading Standards and am much interested to hear what they say. Callendar is a tourist hub and Dreadnought is probably its biggest hotel. Scandalous that their website still takes bookings - and that these bookings require card payment details.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank AlistairR441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Please do not book this hotel. It is closed since october 2016. However they are sending you a confirmation, but when you arrive it is closed!!! And it seems you are not getting back your money. Please be aware of this.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank SanneV1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

please don't book this its taking bookings and money but is closed...i heard this was being refurbished so booked and paid ....but its closed !!!!!!!!! need to find a way of getting my money back booked through expedia...there are many sites still taking bookings

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We recently had a family room, we arrived late around 10 pm, once we discovered the state of the place it was to late to ask for a refund and find an alternative ( we had a tired 4 year old with us ). The hotel is in shocking condition. dirty worn out carpets in the hotel reception , landings and stairways. The room itself looked like it had been badly decorated about 30 years ago. Breakfast was OK, but poor quality sausage, a measure of the whole hotel really, poor quality.

Stayed: October 2016
17  Thank Adlingtonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Pleasant and efficient lady dealt with my telephone booking with no problem. Room clean and bright but like the hotel generally a bit tired. This is typical of many old majestic style hotels and as refurbishment would probably be very expensive somewhat understandable. Soiled faded carpets however do give a poor impression. Checking in was easy and efficient. The bar service was somewhat erratic but ok until we tried to order food. The till system had packed in and no food or drink orders could be processed. On enquiry as to whether a handwritten order could be passed to the kitchen and our room be charged when the system came back on was met with the bewildering response of NO then when pressed as to why, the response was I DONT WANT TO. We left and had a very pleasant lunch at a nearby hotel which I wont name here as I don't want this to appear to be a malicious review by a competitor. Generally though the service was good and helpful - the room rate was somewhat expensive but due to the local jazz festival being on probably reflected to laws of supply and demand. Some of the events were held in the hotel so it was very handy. The breakfast was plentiful and on the busy weekend morning was served buffet style and was fine. However the following morning with few residents the breakfast was individually cooked and expecting it to be much more freshly served was surprised to find it obviously had been sitting too long in the kitchen and was not very pleasant. So all in all ok but only just!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 km away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.6 km away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
145 reviews
0.2 km away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing