We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style hotel located in main street”
Review of Dreadnought Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dreadnought Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Whilst rooms and decoration are a bit tired the rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. Bar and Breakfast food is very good.The staff are helpful and friendly.
Free car parking albeit on rough ground and free WIFI. Overall great value and location.

Room Tip: Front for views or Back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brassrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Worst lunch ever. Terrible fish and chips. No refund. Would not allow my dog to eat there. My wife felt nauseous an hour later.
Please stay away, cross the road to give it a wide berth. Callander is a lovely wee town pity it has this establishment on the high street.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Decided to stay overnight in Callander and booked into The Dreadnought Hotel on the Internet, nice easy check in, staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The hotel has a wonderful location and we had a double room overlooking the water, room and bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. This is an old hotel with lots of quirky features which we loved, yeh it needs some updating in parts but to me this just adds to the charm of the building. We had breakfast here which was good value for £8pp with a full buffet and a pleasant smile and welcome in the morning. The staff couldn't do enough for us and we will return and bring our friends next time.

Room Tip: Room 115 overlooks the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Flo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel could do with updating but great nights sleep and breakfast brilliant, i sadly left my engagment ring on the bed and after contacting the hotel they found it and went out there way to post it too me.. Very grateful ☺️☺️friendly warm staff..

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

callander a lovely place. checked in to dreadnought no problem. room 115 was massive. great view from the room window. clean comfy bed. room was clean. bathroom could be doing with an update but clean. lovely breakfast. would go back again for what we paid for it. reasonable price for what we got

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Callander hotels
0.4 km away
Highland House Hotel
Highland House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Callander
135 reviews
0.7 km away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
0.4 km away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
273 reviews
0.6 km away
Dalgair House Hotel
Dalgair House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Callander
145 reviews
0.2 km away
Coppice House
Coppice House
#1 of 34 in Callander
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. It will reopen in March 1, 2018 Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing