We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
332
100
30
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
100
30
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roompublic roomsjacuzzi bathtasting menuwalled gardenwedding venuecountry housewonderful weddingbetween coursesan upgradestaff are very attentivebanks of the riverbefore dinneropen firefirst classsuperior roomthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely afternoon tea. Service and food was excellent. We were even offered to take what we couldn’t eat home. Was made to feel very welcome. The building is so interesting, so much history. Loved sitting with an open fire and enjoying the surroundings

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We stayed last week, a Christmas gift from my daughters. The hotel is in lovely grounds, unfortunately the rain was very heavy and could not appreciate them fully. We had a large garden room very well equipped. Staff in reception were extremely friendly.
The hotel is similar to a National Trust property, will ancient seating in lounge and library rooms .
Very high quality of food which gained hotel three AA rosettes. You need to go to reception when you wish to order a drink, seemed to have a very good selection of malt whiskies, though no prices displayed .
Very good breakfast in the morning, as expected. The waiter though was not so friendly as other staff. When another couple arrived and sat at a prepared table, they were told to move to a table with cups and saucers on. Though no one had been at this table. They were having a conversion with three other couples and we assumed the waiter could have simply brought crockery to them.
This is a lovely hotel of great character.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Only visited the hotel for food as we were given a gift voucher as a Xmas present. First chance we got to use it was tonight. The food and service were outstanding and I would highly recommend this restruant for a special occasion. Probably the best steak I have ever had. Treat yourself as the attention to detail is excellent.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

From the moment you enter this hotel time slows. Attentive staff,comfortable room and delicious food a great way to relax and unwind. Afternoon tea was delicious and well presented. Attention to detail with the dining experience helps you to enjoy the ambience of the hotel. Our room was extremely comfortable and if we wanted to we could have had a jacuzzi in our bathtub. Grounds look ideal for exploring but the weather wasn't all that good for us so we settled for a short stroll along the river bank and then back to the comfortable sofas and log fire. Recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend of relaxation and comfort.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Have just spent an over night stay at The Roman Camp. Beautiful hotel, Bedroom was Magnificent, wonderful food & excellent service. Highly recommended. 1st Class Just one problem, we didn't stay longer!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews