We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Murder Mystery night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Avon Causeway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Avon Causeway
Ranked #5 of 31 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

28 people went for a surprise birthday party for friends of ours and we were directed to the Pullman carriage at the side of the hotel after we had paid our £32.95 each for the evening meal and entertainment that we had pre ordered through our host.We had two long tables which each contained 14 guests. We had one waitress for the night and two guys who were performing for the mystery night. When the first course was served the two guys served with the waitress and on the far table we were one starter missing. They offered an alternative. On the main course we were again one main meal short, they did eventually bring a meal out but the vegetables had been served seperately and were cold. On the last course we had 3 missing, they would only offer two alternatives and the manager did come out and talk to us but blamed our party for taking the wrong food when bought to the table. I have no complaints to the quality or quantity of the food but the poor waitress was run off her feet and was only able to get all the meals out with the help of the two guys, who were nothing to do with the hotel staffing. The night was a success in all but the service was very poor, this has no reflection on the staff left to deal with the serving of our meals though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    112
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
61
135
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The breakfast is served in a lovely restored train carriage. The bed is a bit soft, but we were so tired it didn't make much difference. The taxi driver from the airport (1 mile away) didn't know where the hotel was and drove us round and round. Because we arrived so late - after midnight, there were clear instructions left as to which room and where to go. Very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I spent 3x nights (pre booked by company) on arrival I found room really cold, once i turned the radiator on, and a few hrs later it warmed up. Everything that you require, kettle,tea,coffee etc was there. I think a bit of TLC would not gone a miss a lick of paint on the walls, a dust around light fittings. The sink in bathroom would not drain water away stright away (it could of done with a real good clean) I could hear the next room going to bathroom, as the fan comes on when light is swithed on as well as hear the toilet flush (could also hear his snoring) WIFI was hit n miss. What made up for this was really helpful staff, nice good value food( todays specials).Breakfast was served in train carriage, not a big breakfast eater ,but I could see it seemed really nice..no marmalade? £45.00 for b and b
If I was to be visiting area would I go again..I think I would, bet its really nice in the summer?

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so make sure you ask question
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrickjohnvanspall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

On arrival me and my partner were looking forward to eating at this place as we live local we chose our starter and main and ordered our drinks we then we was reccomended a fine wine of which my partner loved but on ordering that same drink again they could not remember which one it was second time around so my partner got left with a drink she never liked ! On to the starter , my partner had king prawns but it seemed like it was just batter sticks , I had the stuffed mushroom , more liked dried with hardly any sauce ! Onto the main my partner ordered muscles and there is nothng worse than ordering a meal which they have run out of ! Put a sign up stating this ! Poor customer service ! Sue then opted for the curry, 1 poppadom , spoon full of rice and a small bowl of juice with some chicken , I opted for scampi and chips ( large ) again very poor quantity 7-8 scampi bits and about 15 chips ! Did I miss a sign that said fine dining that means small amounts ? No , I certainly won't be eating here again the staff seemed to be lacking customer service and its a good job a staff member never asked if our meal was ok , oh another mistake they didn't enough said !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pottsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We went to the Avon Causeway yesterday for a carvery. The food was excellent, well cooked and good value. it would have been nice if the vegetarian option (nut roast) was advertised as one member of our party had a meal off the main menu not realising this was a choice. Long queue for carvery (15 mins) but it was 2pm! Dirty plate offered twice and both wine glasses were smeary and clouded. This lack of detail was a shame because, overall, the food was outstanding and the waiter serving attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avoncauseway Y, General Manager at The Avon Causeway, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your honest comments.

I am the new General Manager of the Avon causeway since 18th of may 2011. The high quality customer service and the customer satisfaction is paramount for us. I am very sorry that you have experienced very poor service. This is inexcusable and unacceptable. I will immediately start an investigation and inform you about the progress.

Our customers are always giving us very positive feedbacks about their experience in Avon causeway. i can assure that your experience is not our everyday practice and will never repeat again.

Once again please accept my apologies. I would like to invite you to Avon causeway as my guest. Please contact me by email or phone as soon as you can.

Kindest Regards

General Manager

Ibo Yalcinkaya

avoncauseway@wadworth.co.uk

01202482714
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.9 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
8.5 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
5.5 km away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 11 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
7.1 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avon Causeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avon Causeway

Property: The Avon Causeway
Address: Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $121 - $146
Hotel Class:4 star — The Avon Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a modern pub with accommodation The Avon Causeway provides an ideal stopover or base from which to explore the stunning Dorset countryside. Located in the small village of Hurn, The Avon Causeway has 12 rooms of varying types including twins, double and family rooms. As you'd expect the pub downstairs offers a public bar with a selection of award winning ales from Wadworth Brewery, a decent selection of wines & premium spirits and a range of continental lagers. Dining is available throughout with a range of seasonal British staples through to Italian Stone baked pizza and of course a selection of naughty puds to finish. Only 1.5 Miles from Bournemouth airport making The Avon Causeway the place to stay, dine & drink before your flight. We look forward to welcoming you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The Avon Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avon Causeway Christchurch, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing