We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
casperbel...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Thank you to carol and Tony for making us feel at home in their beautiful cottage . We loved it and would truly recommend staying here. If you have dogs it's great , just down the lane you come into fields after fields and it's so peaceful.
Thank you again
Tracy, graham, Bella, Millie and Layla xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2017
Mr and Mrs Andrews were a very special couple to host. Thoughtful, kind with a great sense of humour and a deep love of the forest. They are intrepid explorers and a real delight to host. Fabulous people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thank you both for your kind comments in our visitors book. I hope the blustery weather and spells of bright sunshine left you feeling full of the Forests natural wonder. We look forward to welcoming you back, Bryan's treats will be waiting!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you all. After you have visited us I always feel like getting on my bike cycling for miles (coming back with the rosy glow!), then walking into the Forest to view the wildlife and finally having a Forest adventure.
You are definitely inspirational and I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mootravel...
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Even Better.. if that can be possible”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was our second visit to what we call " Our bit of heaven" .. and once again it was just that.
Welcomed back by Carol and Tony , the owners, we felt like we were coming home.
The cottage was a lovely as before with new touches such a new cushions, black out blinds, fresh flowers in the bedrooms.. all the things that make this a step up from a run of the mill letting .
Not that Badgers End was ever " run of the mill " .
The whole property is loved and kept in excellent condition and has such a wonderful feel .
We were able to have an extended stay on the last time, but still not long enough.
Both my partner and I have fallen in love with the whole area and will be back as soon as we can , would we stay anywhere else .. not a chance. So when you book up leave room for us ..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you Elizabeth for your kind comments. The door will always be open for you both, fire burning and welcoming lights at the windows. We look forward to your next visit and hope you view the Forest of Dean as your second home .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Em-bright...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Lovely Week”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I was worried this cottage would be too small for us - 4 adults (two quite tall), 2 dogs and one baby - but it worked out well.

Carol and Tony were great hosts and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Gorgeous location on the Scowles above Coleford where we got out provisions. Fantastic bakery - The Crusty Loaf and a Co-op etc.

Close to Symonds Yat, Forest of Dean and Wye Valley walks. Visits to Tintern, Monmouth and The Three Choirs Vineyard in Newent which was superb.

You can't really go wrong with this area - stunning countryside. Relaxing, lovely cottage and location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you, You were a pleasure to host. Finley was fabulous and you couldn't help but love the dogs. You squeezed a huge amount in plus house hunting. I'd love you as my next door neighbours, fingers crossed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing