We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful area”
other travellers have booked this property
Badgers End Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Badgers End Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Badgers End Cottage.
The fully equipt kitchen overlooks the large garden. Dishwasher, Nespresso coffee machine.
Family bathroom with bath and shower attached. Separate shower in en-suite.
Twin bedroom with views across the countryside to the Black Mountains
An ariel view of part of Badgers End Cottage set in private woodland with an adjoining orchard.
Badgers End Cottage includes private spectacular ancient natural woodland.
The rare white stag is native to the Forest of Dean
From the cottage you are able to walk to the renowned Symonds Yat Rock and down to the river.
Spot wild boar piglets!
A carpet of bluebells can be found throughout the months of spring.
Follow the river to the famous Tintern Abbey
Canoeing and other watersports widely available, just 4 miles from the cottage.
Clearwell caves; the ancient natural iron ore mines can be found in the next village.
Local horse riding through beautiful woodland is available in the next riverside village.
Winter walk into the local town, just a 15 minute stroll away
You are welcome to bring your pets bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Coleford, Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NightjarJ...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a wonderful area”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I, with another couple, traveled from the US and spent a wonderful but too-short week at Badgers End Cottage. We were welcomed with cupcakes and many suggestions for what to do in the area (which would easily have filled a month or two!). The cottage is cheerful, spotless and comfortable for four adults. One of our party enjoys cooking and found the kitchen to be well-equipped. (If anything is lacking, the hosts are next door.)

We loved the location as it was a good base for exploring castle ruins in Wales and the astonishing Brecon Beacons in one direction and the Cotswolds in the other. Of course one needn't leave the area at all -- a week is too little time to explore just the Forest of Dean. We particularly enjoyed the Nags Head Preserve, where we were lucky enough to see a Pied Flycatcher. It's a pleasant walk from the cottage to Coleford for groceries or fish-n-chips take-away, or to Newland for dinner at the Ostrich Inn (yes, it is good).

It was a great holiday. We didn't see piglets, or Goshawks from the orchard, so we'll just have to come back. We did, however, see two wild boar!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandyMatt...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Badgers End was a lovely place to stay. We received such a warm welcome and the owners went out of their way to get us settled. It was a great place to stay with the children and there were much-appreciated additions to keep them safe and entertained I.e. Stair gate, fire guard, games and puppets.

It's the kind of place you arrive at and feel immediately at home. I wish we'd stayed for longer and it would have been great to have clearer weather as the mist his what I imagine is a stunning view.

I would recommend Badgers End to couples or families as it is a fab place to stay with lots of things to do nearby.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolNi...
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Badgers End cottage for a few days to get away from it all, and have a very much welcomed change of scene. The cozy cottage in its wonderful peaceful location was for me the perfect choice.
Carol and Tony, the owners live next door are very approachable and friendly, and are on hand if you need advice about the area, or how to light the delightful wood burning stove!
The cottage has everything you could possibly need for self catering, and is fitted with modern appliances. It is clean and comfortable, with all linen provided. WiFi is available free and works very well. The gardens are to the front, are very peaceful, with plenty of garden birds coming to the bird feeders. Table and chairs are available. Unfortunately, no sightings of the wild boar! The orchard at the back of the cottage was not very assessable at our time of visiting unfortunately.
We can recommend The Ostrich pub for an evening meal, having an extensive tasty menu, and being a £5 taxi ride away.
All in all a very welcome break in a wonderful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and its peacfulness
Liked least: Not having the orchard available to sit in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbarasc...
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded Lane in Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Enjoyed our stay on an isolated lane in the Forest of Dean. Owners were warm and helpful. Kitchen was well-equipped and bathrooms were modern and warm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful setting
Liked least: narrow lanes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jirota
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic country cottage in great location for everything in the Forest.”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Badgers End is the perfect base for a trip to the Forest of Dean. A lovely, comfy spot to return to after an exhilerating walk, long cycle or a paddle down the Wye. It's close to everything but on the edge of the countryside with fab walks right from the door and just 10 mins on foot into the town for groceries. Plenty of room for us and our teenagers, well equipped kitchen plus the challenge of getting the log burning stove to light in the snug lounge! Carol is a fab host, full of useful information and top tips. Plenty of sheep about, but will have to return to catch sight of the Badgers or the promised Wild Boar. Very highly recommended!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing