We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of the runnymede-on-thames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
the runnymede-on-thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in thei hotel just for a night away as we do not live that far from the hotel. This hotel is beautiful and very modern and clean.

It is set on the banks of the river thames near to Staines which is a nice town to shop and have lunch. In the summer you can sit outside and enjoy the river setting over a few drinks. It also has an outside pool as well as one inside with a sauna, gym and outside hot tub.

Our room had a river view and was small but very nice. it had everything we wanted. The bar area is very relaxing and the staff are very attentive. Breakfast is AMAZING. They even have their own honey bees so fresh honey for breakfast if you so desire it.

We had a great stay and wiull be going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    479
    125
    30
    10
See reviews for
366
508
29
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A weekend stay to celebrate my birthday. We booked very late through Expedia, which meant that the hotel had not processed our booking upon arrival. A lengthy delay at check-in led to a complimentary upgrade, so maybe it was almost worth the hassle!

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We slept well but found the pillows too soft, I almost had to fight my way out of them in the morning. The rubber bath mat was stained and needs to be binned. Breakfast and dinner in the Left Bank restaurant were of a high standard, if a little pricey. I didn't fancy the vegetarian option at dinner but the chef made something just for me, which was very much appreciated.

We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were visiting Windsor and wanted something nearby. The hotel is very easy to find just off the M25, I notice some reviews complain about this, but we happily sat by the river for tea without any disturbance. There was absolutely no noise in the hotel. The hotel is big, but it feels warm and friendly and the service from staff was excellent, I was particularly impressed with the guest services representative and the waitress for our meal in the Lock Bar Kitchen restaurant. Our room was small, but it had everything that you need, unless you wanted to play football in the room. Food in the restaurants was excellent. Being located on the river we could walk to the Magna Carta and RAF memorial, the hotel did have the walk details, but you could not go wrong. We had a great time, and would go back, or to one of the others in the group.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the little bit extra for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the Runnymeade on Thames Hotel Windsor.What can we say the staff go out of their way to treat you well and make you feel special.The spa is a real treat we were in there at 7am on Saturday and had the pool to ourselves bliss! We stayed in a deluxe river side room the bed was so comfy.My only criticism was that the room needs more windows its such a lovely view.The food was good with a good choice .We even walked the 5 miles into Windsor along the Thames Path got a taxi back which was £12.Also loved the White company products in the room.We will be back in the summer for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews that were overwhelmingly positive, but my experience at the hotel was somewhat a disappoint. I had expected a 4 star hotel to have 100% cotton sheets so I did not check specifically for this, and the hotel website boasts all the luxury items, such as feather mattress topper, pillows and duvet but no mentioning of the sheets! For those who dislike polyester or poly/cotton blend sheets, this was a very unpleasant experience. While I did not expect a large room, the room is so small that one feels that it is more suited for hobbits, perhaps. The views are nice but the noise from the nearby highway is clearly audible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscdjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at the runnymede-on-thames, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I am sorry to see that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. We do have various room types of varying sizes within within the hotel from a standard double to our deluxe rooms with king size beds. I am not aware of the room type you stayed in but on future visits it may be worth requesting a larger room. I can confirm that our sheets are 30% polyester and 70% cotton but on request we are always able to provide alternatives. I am however sorry that our standard was not to your preference. All of the bedrooms within the hotel have double glazing to limit road noise but I am sorry that this was not quiet enough for you.
If you have made us aware of the issues you mentioned in one of our questionnaires this information will be added to your client record so we can allocate more suitable rooms for you in the future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
2.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
3.1 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
14.9 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
6.9 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
11.0 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the runnymede-on-thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the runnymede-on-thames

Property: the runnymede-on-thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price range (per night): $215 - $382
Hotel Class:4 star — the runnymede-on-thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your the runnymede-on-thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede-On-Thames Egham, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing