We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Runnymede on Thames
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a very average hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews that were overwhelmingly positive, but my experience at the hotel was somewhat a disappoint. I had expected a 4 star hotel to have 100% cotton sheets so I did not check specifically for this, and the hotel website boasts all the luxury items, such as feather mattress topper, pillows and duvet but no mentioning of the sheets! For those who dislike polyester or poly/cotton blend sheets, this was a very unpleasant experience. While I did not expect a large room, the room is so small that one feels that it is more suited for hobbits, perhaps. The views are nice but the noise from the nearby highway is clearly audible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscdjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
I am sorry to see that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. We do have various room types of varying sizes within within the hotel from a standard double to our deluxe rooms with king size beds. I am not aware of the room type you stayed in but on future visits it may be worth requesting a larger room. I can confirm that our sheets are 30% polyester and 70% cotton but on request we are always able to provide alternatives. I am however sorry that our standard was not to your preference. All of the bedrooms within the hotel have double glazing to limit road noise but I am sorry that this was not quiet enough for you.
If you have made us aware of the issues you mentioned in one of our questionnaires this information will be added to your client record so we can allocate more suitable rooms for you in the future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    511
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
389
535
35
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Not too far from home we attended a friends event at the hotel in March, the Runnymeade has been the meeting ground of executives, headhunters, management seeing their sales reps for years, so it made a pleasant change to not be surrounded by loud people talking or walking around with smartphones glued to their ears! The hotel had a refurb in 2011 and the changes to the lounge areas have been made to give the feel of space with a modern twist. The spa and facilities remain the same and the breakfast room had also been altered to resemble a sort of cross between a motorway service station and outdoor garden centre seating arrangement... But that's not a negative..it was a strange set up, but it worked, except to have a note from the management pushed under the door telling us to avoid the breakfast restaurant during peak times! That's a first....I mean the hotel is 500m from the M25 but to have a congestion control request from the mmt was a first! May I propose to the management they organise more staff maybe or a congestion charge! Breakfast was good plenty of coffee too!

The rooms were fine, what you would expect from a good 4star hotel. The dinner and evening entertainment provided was of a very high standard, the food very good, canapés great, champagne and wines superb! So I'd also mention the staff for the reception were plentiful and polite and discreet, well done to these guys!

All in all a very good hotel, comfortable beds, so go and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SimonPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your comments; we enjoyed your feedback and have passed it on to all the teams at the runnymede to ensure they are aware how much their efforts are appreciated. On certain busy weekends we do advise guests that there may be a wait for the buffet breakfast, especially if everyone comes down at 9.30am due to every table being occupied, but we do wish our guests to enjoy our ‘good’ breakfast and rest assured we will not put a ‘congestion’ charge in place. This is only done to ensure that our guests receive the level of service we pride ourselves on and in no way are we telling guests not to come for breakfast.
I am however pleased that you thought the hotel was very good with comfortable beds and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have been wanting to stay at this Hotel for some time as it is the sister hotel to the Grove Rickmansworth where we have stayed many times over the years. This isnt in the same league as the Grove as it is rated 4 stars. The hotel rooms do disappoint as they are on the small side. We stayed in a deluxe river view room No. 154; two full length panelled windows (one panel opened half way) with a wonderful view of the River Thames. Room was lit with fluorescent lights giving a harsh light but had softer bedside lighting. Bed was very comfortable, if on the firm side. Where it is located means it can be quite noisy with the by pass close by as well as the M25 and Heathrow terminal 5 - I did see just one plane flying over quite low in the 3 days we stayed. Where the hotel scores is the staff go out of their way to be so helpful - I had forgotten an essential item and Katy from reception very kindly located a nursing home and duly delivered the items albeit they were not quite right, then found a chemist open until 10 pm on Sunday. The food in the hotel restaurants was very good and generous portions given. Buffet breakfast was a king's feast with an array of offerings including smoked salmon; cut meats; cheeses as well as hot food - eggs, bacon sausage etc; fresh orange juice, apple and carrot juice or a fruit smoothie. It is probably wonderful to stay in the summer when the outdoor pool is open plus the benefit of picturesque walks which as weather was wonderfully warm we did walk on the towpath along the Thames. It also has an indoor pool which we didnt use but looked very clean and well laid out with a children's pool by the side of the main pool. There were lots of business people using the lounge area which had huge windows overlooking the Thames, I guess because it is convenient for the airport and other transport links and a nice place to meet up with lots of comfortable armchairs, leather sofas at each end of a light filled room, and a large communal work desk where I could see people working on their lap tops

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the Thames but ask for a room away from the Bridge which is act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soosoo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the runnymede and that although you found our rooms smaller than those at The Grove you appreciated the views over the river Thames. I am also glad to see that you found the breakfast resembled a ‘Kings feast’. I have passed your kind comments onto the team as it is feedback such as yours that encourages them to go that extra mile.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband & I stay here as much as we can, using birthdays & anniversaries as an excuse as it's not very far from home.

Nothing is to big or too small for the staff & they go out of their way to help you. The rooms are on the smaller side, but they're perfectly formed with everything you need.

There are 2 restaurants, the Leftbank which is a buffet style, and the Lock which is a la carte. Both serve the most amazing food & I have never had bad service in either of them.

Relaxing in the lounge bar is one of my favourite things to do there, after treatments at the spa of course!

Would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to have a special weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jczil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so delighted that you enjoy visiting us for special celebrations.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Great hotel...great location right on the river. And if you are planning on going to windsor castle it is nearby. Easy to park. The breakfast is terrific. And the room service menu is good too! Very affordable and comfortable hotel.
I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbieduch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runnymede_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at The Runnymede on Thames, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel; we appreciate it.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
King regards
Craig Spencer
Resident / Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egham
2.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
3.6 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
15.0 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,508 reviews
35.5 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
11.0 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Runnymede on Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Runnymede on Thames

Property: The Runnymede on Thames
Address: Windsor Road, Egham TW20 0AG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Egham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Egham
Price range (per night): $226 - $432
Hotel Class:4 star — The Runnymede on Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set right on the banks of the river Thames we are the perfect location for a short break. Our family friendly hotel is near attractions, theme parks and fantastic sights. There's so much to do right here too with riverside walks, our award-winning spa, gorgeous riverside dining and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Runnymede on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Runnymede-On-Thames Hotel Egham
Runnymede Hotel Egham
Hotel Runnymede
The Runnymede On Thames Egham, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing