We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice but overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My partner and I spent 1 night here in August. We paid £70 for a standard double room.
Upon arrival we found the parking rate was £9 for an overnight stay which is ridiculous but there was no other parking nearby so £9 it was!
We got to reception and the young lady on shift got us muddled up with another reservation which just wasted more time and given you can't check in until 3pm, was quite annoying.
Our room was nice with a great view of the milennium bridge and river. The bathroom was very clean but the carpet in the room needed hoovered. And for a bottle of water it was £3.90 - I think not!
We had a great sleep and the bed was very comfortable. Check out isn't until 12 so it was nice to lay in and have plenty of time for breakfast.
We had breakfast in the hotel. It was a further £10 each for this and it was a fairly standard breakfast - cereal, yoghurt, pastries and a cooked buffet. We were seated quickly but when we went up to get breakfast, we came back to no table! We were then moved and given no apology from the waiting staff for their disorganisation. The food itself was fine but not quite £10 worth.
Our overall stay was good but I don't think we would stay here again on our visits to Gateshead.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Mally11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,135
    897
    452
    198
    107
See reviews for
344
1,107
94
706
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here for one night during a 2-day business meeting in the conference centre. The meeting facilities were great and the fast wi-fi is free and you don't have to register to get spam afterwards - much appreciated ! My bedroom was comfortable and spacious with everything except a view ... a £10 upgrade gets you a view of the Tyne, which seemed unreasonable. The buffet lunches and breakfast were all OK and the location would be ideal for exploring Newcastle & Gateshead on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I paid £138 for 2 nights here. The car park is under the hotel, the reception area was open, spacious and the reception staff were polite. They wanted a £10 upgrade for a room with a river view but when we got to our room we kind of had that view already. Room was a nice size, bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean, well decorated and had two showers. Lovely room. We didn't have breakfast there so i cannot comment on that. The location is ok, you have to walk 10-15 mins i think to get to the main town. The pool was nice as well and the changing rooms were very well maintained
The one negative aspect of the hotel is the cost of the parking! This is the first time i've had to actually pay to park at a hotel - perhaps i have lived a sheltered life but it was £18 for 2 nights which i thought was steep.
But the hotel looks nice, is nice... you will have a pleasent stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frazzleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Typical Hilton Hotel and was very clean with friendly staff and an excellent view!!!
I visited the hotel for a business meeting and used the conference facilty which was excellent.
The hotel is very attractive and is situated in a great location as you can walk over the bridge into the centre of Newcastle.
Would stay ther again if I visited Newcastle for personmal reaosn but try and get a "deal" as its not cheap and is essentially a business hotel with little "soul" !

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javid56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

From the moment we stepped into reception the staff couldn't do enough for us in this modern well located hotel. Got this hotel through laterooms at a great price for an Executive room.

Our room overlooked the main Tyne bridge into Newcastle. Also had access to the executive lounge where complimentary food and drinks were on offer all day and from 6-8pm included alcoholic drinks.

Only a 5 min walk to the Quayside and in easy reach of the millenium bridge, The Baltic Gallery and the city centre.

Will stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gateshead
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.6 km away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle Gateshead Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
4.6 km away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
0.4 km away
The Vermont Hotel
The Vermont Hotel
#29 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Property: Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Price range (per night): $125 - $283
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing