We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Red House(Grantham)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 68/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 77
USD 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 138
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 78
USD 76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allington Manor(Allington)
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 110
USD 107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 58
USD 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel(Grantham)(Great Value!)
USD 83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
294
211
96
36
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
211
96
36
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings roomfour posterhistoric hotelhigh streetking johnlovely old hotelold coaching innlots of historythird floorno liftwould highly recommend this hotelsmoked salmongood sizevisiting granthamfull englishsteeped in historyopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
556 - 561 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Paid £54 b and b got 4 poster room (room 115) excellent all round.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guinness4health
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

We are really pleased that you found us excellent value & would love you to come back and see us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Angel is very centrally located with a very large car park to the rear the just across a small street. Check in was prompt helpful and friendly. The room was quirky having lots of traditional old coaching inn style. On entering there was a small siting room wiht window over the court yard. Then a short corridor with the bathroom off to the left then on to the bedroom (which again was "compact") which had a very comfortable 4 poster bed. We liked the layout a lot. One could laze on the bed reading while the other watched TV for example. The room was a refreshing change from the usual hotel layout. The best bit was the central location, right on the high street and close to many pubs and some restaurents. We lived in Grantham foer the first 20 years of our lives but never stayed at the Angel before. The town itself is not at it's best. A lot of shops on the high street are vacant/closed and M&S has recently bailed out of the town. There is a good friendly atmosphere in the pubs, but if it's a high quality shopping experience you are after, then you will almost certainly be disappointed. One slight issue was that when we returned to the Hotel at 11.30pm the front court yard entrance was locked. We could not get any attention from anyone to open it for us. We walked to the back entrance (which was 200 mtrs around an adjacent street in pouring rain!!) and then managed to contact reception to let us in. After a great night's sleep breakfast was in pleasant surroundings with buffet serials and fruti followed by full english served to the table. Breakfast wasn't "memourably" great, but was fine... All in all a great place to stay if you need to be in Grantham, traditional old fashioned style, well maintained rooms and public areas, and exceptionally good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynne_and_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for comments, we are very pleased you found your room so comfortable as we pride ourselves on as you say being a refreshing change from the normal hotel room layout
I’m very sorry you could not get the night porters attention on returning late & have now asked them to check the bell is working on starting their shift so this does not happen again
I do hope you will come back & see us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Great value hotel in central Grantham. Good contemporary rooms and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments & that you found our rooms & breakfast great .
We do hope you will come and stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Had a 2 day break, using our Tesco vouchers. A lovely old hotel, but the rooms are very up to date. The choice for breakfast was very good. We will be going back to this hotel as we have family in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your 2 days with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed two nights with the bed and breakfast package which is well worth taking up. The hotel has plenty of character in total contrast to the cereal box airport hotels. Excellent breakfast, kippers, smoked salmon or full English available. There is a launderette close by and several pubs serving food in the high street.

A memorable stay, I'll definately be back.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have much luggage get a room on a low floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews