We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
299
214
98
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
214
98
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kings room four poster historic hotel high street king john lovely old hotel old coaching inn lots of history third floor no lift smoked salmon would highly recommend this hotel good size visiting grantham full english steeped in history open fire
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Guys, You are sure to experience something.....or you are not human. I had visitors my first night after a 12 hr flight and every night afterwards. This place is too spooky for me! I will never stay again. Please note: hotel services were great..... I just don't like being visited by any haunting figures.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10jessicab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Hi There, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings. I am sorry that the presence of our friendly ghost caused you to feel you can't return.

In 6 years with the hotel we haven't had any bad vibe from them, normally pretty friendly, however we have had the paranormal investigators out and they are still reviewing their findings. Watch our website for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on Saturday and was pleasantly surprised. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room was clean and bright and contained everything needed - even provided a hairdryer which you usually only get with a higher grade hotel.
Building has been sympathetically restored and still retains some beautiful architectural features.
Breakfast was all freshly cooked to request and was of good quality.
Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends/family,
The only drawback was that the room was very hot as a result of a fault with the boiler thermostat. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments - I will pass these on to the whole team and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Choes this one coz it's in the middle of the town. Price was reasonable but there were reviews of a ghost.

When we arrived I saw a pillory(?) near the kitchen which scared me a bit. The building is really old but when we got in the room it has a separate sitting room and then a hallway leading to the bedroom which is a really good size. Two TV in total in the room and only paid £65!

The parking was quite tricky coz they share with the church and the keypad for the exit code is quite hidden if you are going out. It's the one with a coin slot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

We are glad that you had a fab time and we did not need to use the stocks for your visit, this time.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We booked 5 rooms as we were staying for a training course in Granham.

The hotel is really nice, has many lovely traditional features and everyone had a good nights sleep in great four poster beds. The breakfast was also very good. Free car park at the rear and situated right in he heart of Grantham.
Surprisingly good value too.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuluNorthYorks_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked as an overnight stay on our way up to North Yorkshire and were really impressed with the hotel. We wished we were able to stay longer. The restaurant food was wholesome and good value for money. The service was really good and staff accommodating. The bed was comfortable and room was quiet, the whole place had a really traditional feel about it. There was sufficient parking.
We were pleasantly surprised that Grantham itself was a really interesting town with lots to see.
We will be back and hopefully stay longer.

Room Tip: Check it out
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thepans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at Best Western Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you - we are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the surrounding area - Grantham does indeed have lots to do and see, its even better in the summer.

The staff are delighted that you want to return and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews