We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Angel & Royal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Angel & Royal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We were having a look through hotels in Lincolnshire and found this on the Best Western website with a number of different deals - we chose a good value Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal.

I then emailed to advise the hotel if they offered anything for a special occasion such as birthday and where exactly the car park was (It is behind the hotel and not on the main high street, watch out for Grantham's 1 way system if you miss it!) and received a quick and helpful response within hours. They very kindly upgraded us from a Superior to a Suite room and advised we could bring a birthday cake with us to be served after the meal

Plenty of parking right opposite the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely decorated (and in keeping with the the age/tradition of hotel) with flat screen tv (2 because we had a suite!). Beds were very comfy and warm.As we were 1st down for Dinner we had a nice warm spot next to the lovely large fireplace and quick service. Food was good and reasonable choice of set menus for an inclusive deal.

Breakfast service was also good (so quick we didnt have time to look at the cooked menu!).Only had the cooked breakfast but the usual choice of toast, croissants etc was also available.

I chose this hotel mainly on its reviews for good customer service and wasnt disappointed. In current times you pay a lot for a bland (chain) hotel and average (if you are lucky) customer service. I felt this was really good value as it is clean and tastefully modernised in the traditional style not losing it's historic features.

Room Tip: This hotel has no lift and the suite we stayed in was on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClareLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments that I have passed on to the team. We strive to accommodate all requests and hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    169
    71
    27
    17
See reviews for
72
225
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

One of the nicest old hotels I have stayed in, with comfortable rooms and friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was busy with a wedding and Christmas parties but had the time and space to make us feel welcome. Good food in the restaurant and your breakfast is cooked to order. It was great to sit next to the enormous log fire eating our dinner. Excellent parking behind the hotel - make sure you read the instructions on how to get there as there is a one-way system.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwladyrHaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments - we try to accommodate everyone. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Very good car parking at rear of hotel. Super large room which was well maintained. Busy with pre-Christmas parties on Friday and Saturday evenings but all quiet after midnight! Staff were very friendly throughout.
Stayed as a base to visit Lincoln Christmas Market which we travelled to by train via Newark Northgate. Also drove over to Nottingham for some Christmas shopping.
Had a good trip!

Room Tip: Room 212 was fine..................
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Cash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is quality one of the best Best Westerns i have stayed in.
from parking car in their large securecr park at the back of the hotel everything went like clockwork. We had arrived 30 mins before check in, not a problem our room was ready & available we were given keys for room 214. When we opened the door it was a pleasant surprise the decor, fittings & curtains were of a high standard. You walked into a sitting room with flat screen TV etc, a large bathroom of to the left, to the right down a few steps a spacoius bedroom again with flat screen TV, drapes over the bed to match curtains.
The hotels is over 600 years old full of character, well decorated throughout log fires in the bar and dinning room. Evening meal was cooked to perfection with plenty of choice. Great nights sleep, comfy bed. Breakfast cooked to order with a huge choice.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough management and staff have got it right.
On saturday Grantham has a street market with around 60 to 80 stalls well worth a walk round.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for your fantastic comments, the staff are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our reason for visiting Grantham/Lincoln was two fold.Christmas shopping and a visit to a Ghurka Restaurant that my husabnd had been to earlier in the year. As I had been to Nepal a couple of years ago he knew I was nostaligic for Momos' (see review for the Everest Resturant) and the Nepalese hospitality.

Parking for the Ancient & Royal is very easy in a dedicated car park at the rear of the hotel and not too far to walk with bags etc. Originally the hotel had booked us into a third floor room and as there are no lifts at the hotel my husband asked if there was any chance of being moved to the first floor as he was suffering from a knee injury. Although the hotel was very busy this was achieved with the minimum of fuss and with good humour.

On arrival the first thing that struck me was the obvious history of the buildings, parts of which date back to the 12th & 13th century, some lovely Victorian features mingling happily with medieval, Georgian, Tudor and more! The second was the lovely aroma of real fires that permeat throughout the ground floor.

Our arrival meant that the lunch time service was only minutes away from closing (last orders taken at 2.15p.m.) but we were served although there seemed to be a very long wait for the few people wanting to be served and it all appeared to be a little disorganised. At the end of the meal we were scouting around for a good 15 minutes looking/waiting for someone to present us with the bill. I had ordered a roast beef and horseradish sandwich which came with salad and French fries. There was plenty on the plate - a huge doorstep of a sandwich - and it was "o.k" but the beef was very very pink and very very chewy. My husband fared better with his Ham off the bone and mustard.

Our room was spotlessly clean and we liked the layout of a small lounge, bathroom and corridor separating it from the bedroom which was furnished with a huge four poster bed and 32" flat screen tv. In the lounge there was a small two seater settee, wardrobe, kettle with tea/coffee etc and bottles of water, a small dresser and a small flat screen tv on the wall. Bed linen was pristine white and comfortable.

The bathroom was a decent size but the tiles were dated and alongside the bath a whole section of them were coming away from the wall. Otherwise it was, like the rest of the "apartment" spotlessly clean, complete with complimentary toiletries.

The small hotel bar was cosy, again with a real fire in a huge stone fireplace and some interesting features. The young lady on duty in the bar was friendly, helpful and chatty.

Our room overlooked the rear courtyard and faced the rooms on the adjacent block of the hotel. On opening our blinds in the morning we were a little taken aback to see a couple in the facing room giving a somewhat full and naked amorous display in full view of the window and with their bedroom lights hiding nothing. On hastily closing our blind we wondered if Best Western might want to consider installing some heavy net curtains in facing rooms!

Breakfast (full English) and help yourself to juice/cereal etc; was good but the tables for two are so small there really isn't room to accommodate pots of tea and all the associate plates and condiments comfortably.

All in all though - a very pleasant stay at a hotel steeped in history and atmosphere,but we could have lived without the early morning entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reddragonlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaWatson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and the town - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
3.9 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
2.0 km away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.7 km away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
7.4 km away
Ramada Resort Grantham
8.0 km away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
Address: 4-5 High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Grantham
Price range (per night): $97 - $191
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing