We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantstic stay at Tombain Cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sean P
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantstic stay at Tombain Cottage”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of 4 looking for a relaxing, seasonal stay in the Scottish Highlands, Tombain Cottage did not disappoint. We had a fantastic time enjoying the magical scenery around us and also the comfort that the cottage itself provides.

Grantown is a really lovely town with plenty to offer and we found everyone to be exceptionally friendly. Stewart and Lizzie are very helpful owners and extremely easy to deal with throughout the whole process of booking and staying at their lovely cottage.

We would strongly recommend a visit to Tombain if you wish to get away from it all and have a very comfortable stay in stunning countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shica2k9
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at the luxurious Tombain for a few nights. The views are spectacular and the cottage is so comfortable and cosy. We did not want to leave. We cannot wait to return for a 2nd time. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertram
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Beyond our expectations !”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a 2nd stay at Tombain this year and it still had that wow factor on our 2nd visit. Wonderful warm cosy cottage, beautifully furnished and very very clean, with the most fabulous views! Cant wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage itself
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter E
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring a brilliant area”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Cairngorms area. We booked Tombain Cottage as a base for our family, my wife and I, 2 teenage daughters and my son (11). The property is wonderful - immaculate inside and an ideal place to return to after a long day out !
The open plan kitchen, dining and lounge make it ideal as a communal area.
Where do you start with the views ? Absolutely stunning outlook over the Cairngorms.
It's also excellent as Grantown-on-Spey is around 5-10mins drive and has excellent amenities for grocery shopping, a lovely bakery, chip shop and gift outlets.
We explored as far as the Moray Firth, Fort William, Loch Ness, Aviemore and Balmoral. As I say, excellent central location to get to all these places.
Everything worked perfectly and you had all the amenities required - cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer, dryer.
Other than taking yourselves, food, drink and clothes I don't think you need anything more !
We'd return without hesitation - would love to visit in Winter and take advantage of the winter sports.
Oh, if you get chance, go to the grass sledging at Glenmore - great fun for all ages !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the quality of the property
Liked least: Can't think without being picky !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertram
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, luxury accommodation ”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from a fantastic week at Tombain Cottage, the cottage is 10 mins outside Granton on Spey, the views when you arrive are spectacular. Inside the cottage is just as fabulous, lovely Scottish furnishing and artworks in a beautiful warm cosy cottage. The master bedroom is something else. The cottage was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. We loved it so much we booked to come back in October within 24hrs of arriving, can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing